Half marathon

20 May

It was a perfect morning weather-wise for the half marathon. Chilly without being frosty and with no wind. There was also signs that the sun would make an appearance once the early morning cloud had disappeared. So not a lot to complain about really. After meeting up with Ruth and Mr B and standing in queue for the obligatory half-dozen visits to the toilet (ok I am exaggerating…slightly), it was time to strip off the many layers and stand in the starting area. However I did not part with my running jacket straightaway. I had made plans for Mr B to take the jacket once we had finished the small 4km loop before heading off around the lake. This would give me a chance to warm up.

I had a good run this morning – steady pace for most of the way, and taking advantage of the hills. My strength, such that it is, is hills so this is when I plan to pass as many people as possible, maintaining my pace once I crest the hill rather than slow down as a lot of people do. It worked for me today :)

My only goal, other than enjoy the run, was to run about the same as what I did in the Canberra half marathon (1hr 48.08min) last month, or at least not run a slower time. So to run 1hr 43.24min (according to my watch) was an added bonus to what was an enjoyable morning. Afterwards some of us went to Urban Pantry for a well-earned coffee and for at least one of us, pancakes (and it wasn’t me!). 

2 Responses to “Half marathon”

  1. Janene 20/05/2012 at 7:27 pm #

    Great run Cathy! I hope to be able to follow in your footsteps sometime this year :-). You are such an inspiration.

  2. Ewen 20/05/2012 at 7:52 pm #

    Lucky you didn’t say it was “cruisy” or I would have had a go at you for not HTFU and having a go!
    Yeah, Clint was a guts eating all those pancakes — and he hadn’t even run (yet)!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 276 other followers

