Comfort food

26 May

I woke during the night feeling like I’d swallowed razors – a whole packet of them. Not only that but every part of me ached, I was burning up but at the same time feeling really cold. Uh oh……not good. Actually I’ve been dodging the dreaded lurgy all week – Mr N came down with it last weekend and then half of my section at work has succumbed over the week. I thought I was doing ok but yesterday afternoon I was starting to feel very ordinary and then by last night I was feeling like crap.

Today is the perfect day for staying in bed as it is freakin cold outside. I did venture out, rugged up, to finish the food shopping this morning. This afternoon has been spent snuggled up in bed reading trashy magazines or sleeping. Even when I’m sick I need to be doing something and so this afternoon I made pumpkin soup, using our own home-grown butternut pumpkins. To me, this is comfort food at its best and perfect for this wintry weather. And it’s really simple to make – saute an onion until soft, add some red curry paste and ginger and quickly saute, followed by the diced pumpkin, chicken stock and water. I also added some crushed garlic. Then bring to the boil, simmer for 15-20mins and then blend until smooth. I also added a small can of coconut milk.

So dinner tonight was a bowl of pumpkin soup with a toasted muffin topped with some avocado and ricotta cheese. The soup was silky smooth and creamy. I’m in heaven ;)

And in case you were wondering, no, I didn’t run today so that means my running streak has come to an end. So all in all, it lasted 178 days. Oh well, it was fun while it lasted. That’s not to say that I won’t start again once I’ve recovered but in the meantime, my first priority is to get better. 

7 Responses to “Comfort food”

  1. Janene 26/05/2012 at 9:45 pm #

    Get well soon!!!!! :-)

    • cathyn61 26/05/2012 at 9:48 pm #

      Thanks Janene – I’m hoping the pumpkin soup might do its magic!

  2. Ewen Thompson (@EwenThompson) 26/05/2012 at 10:21 pm #

    What J said, but with a few less exclamation marks. 178 days is still a great streak – got you into excellent shape going by your HM time. Funny, I had pumkin soup tonight – bought it at Woolies ;) Now all I have to do is kick my head cold before it turns into the dreaded lurgy!

    • cathyn61 26/05/2012 at 11:11 pm #

      Fingers crossed yours is just a head cold. Pumpkin soup can do wonders :). I’m happy with 178 days. Curses though to those who spread their germs!

      Sent from my iPad

  3. Geoff Moore 26/05/2012 at 11:10 pm #

    There is still two hours of the day left! The treadmill calls!

    • cathyn61 26/05/2012 at 11:15 pm #

      I’m in bed & can think of nothing more painful than moving. My head hurts too much.

      Sent from my iPad

  4. Steve 27/05/2012 at 7:32 am #

    Now you can concentrate on the half IM instead of wanting ( needing) to run every day. Get better soon, guess wont see you at Stromlo on Sunday.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 279 other followers

