Pause…

19 Jan

20130119-195516.jpg…and reflect.

Sometimes we can get so caught up in the busyness of our lives that we forget to take stock of what we have and are grateful for. Then something happens that stops us in our tracks and makes us reassess our priorities – what’s really important, and what’s really…fluff…extraneous noise.

Today I have been thinking about a lot of things, taking stock and realising there is so much to be grateful for. I am grateful for my health, my fitness, my family and friends, the fact I have a roof over my head, that I don’t have to worry about where my next meal is coming from, that I have a well paid job, and so many other things, too numerous to mention. Yep, I have a pretty good life.

I went for a 5km run again, on my [rocky] journey to Canberra marathon in April. Apart from feeling a little out of practice (though it has only been 8 days since I last ran and on that occasion it was 30km) there were no other problems. The back held up well. Tonight I start a stretching and core strengthening program. :)

20130119-195359.jpgI watched the second part of the Lance Armstrong interview this afternoon. I’m not sure what to make of it – does he really mean it when he says he’s sorry? Is he only sorry because he got caught? He says one thing but his body language says the opposite. I remember several of those Tour de France races he won when I sat glued to the TV, mesmerised by his skill and physical feats of endurance. Now? I feel duped. :(

“You’ve gotta dance like there’s nobody watching,
Love like you’ll never be hurt,
Sing like there’s nobody listening,
And live like its heaven on earth.” – William W Purkey

2 Responses to “Pause…”

  1. crazytraintotinkytown 20/01/2013 at 6:55 am #

    Loved this post!

    • cathyn61 20/01/2013 at 8:17 am #

      Thank you. Someone I know sadly and tragically lost their life in a bike accident. So sad.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 276 other followers