One foot in front of the other

21 Jan

Yes, it was a plodder of a run this morning! One foot in front if the other….slowly….very slowly. Once I had fully woken (what? You’ve never run while still half asleep?!) my pace did improve. Marginally. Still it was nice to be up and outdoors, even at such an ungodly hour of the morning – I started my run at 5.45am.

There were a few other people out and about so I’m not the only crazy one. Many were walking their dogs but there were a couple of cyclists and the odd runner or two. Otherwise it was just me, myself and I for company for most of the run.

Distance run this morning was 11km so not too shabby. And it was good to get it out if the way early before the heat of the day. Today the temperature reached a high of 34 degrees Celsius at just after 3pm. I wouldn’t know – I was still hard at work in an air-conditioned office at that time but walked out into the heat later, much later, in the day. :)

Tomorrow a change of pace – no running but a swim instead. Save my legs and my back for a Wednesday run.

“By three methods we may learn wisdom: First, by reflection, which is noblest; Second, by imitation, which is easiest; and third by experience, which is the bitterest.” – Confucius

20130121-205432.jpg

4 Responses to “One foot in front of the other”

  1. Ewen 21/01/2013 at 9:18 pm #

    I never run when half asleep. Isn’t that how you did the original CJ?

    • cathyn61 22/01/2013 at 5:30 am #

      It may be how most of my CJs happen!

      Sent from my iPad

  2. Steve 21/01/2013 at 9:51 pm #

    At that hour some of us are heading to work, so need be more than half asleep. I leave that for later in the day, the run and the nana nap. Air con, nice running today in 29 degrees, the swim at the end was just as good.

    • cathyn61 22/01/2013 at 5:32 am #

      I have no guarantee that I’ll even be able to get out for a run later in the day so that’s why I do mine early.

      Sent from my iPad

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 279 other followers

