Operation Marshmallow to Muscle

13 May

5.50am: cardio session + abs
Session: 10 x 1 min hard efforts (1 min easy spin) bike intervals on wind trainer; 1min mountain climbers & squat thrusts with medicine balls; abs – 3 exercises x 3 sets; stretches
Time: 53.26min
AHR: 133; MHR: 221
Cals: 304

Operation Marshmallow to Muscle is officially underway. The soft squishy middle needs to go, or at least morph into something less soft and squishy. Muscles hopefully will be revealed.

So it’s goodbye…temporarily…to chocolate, magnum icecreams, sponge cake with jam and cream, and all the other tasty delights I have been…ahem…indulging in lately. Hey, it was Mother’s Day after all! But for the next 12 weeks, unless it’s on my nutrition plan it’s not part of my food consumption.

For the past few months I have enjoyed the luxury of not having to get up really early in the morning to exercise but instead I have been running at lunchtime or after work. Well, things are about to change…well not about to, they have! This morning I was up on my bike on the windtrainer at 5.50am doing a session of 40mins which included 10 x 1 min hard intervals. It’s been a while since I’ve been on my bike so yesterday afternoon I had to dust off the cobwebs and brush out the leaves that were caught up in the spokes. Mr CJ sprayed the bike with insect repellent so I didn’t experience any nasty creepy crawly surprises this morning.

Last night I prepared today’s lunch and cooked a couple of chicken breasts in preparation for tonight’s meal (chicken noodle soup). I diarised my exercise commitments for the week and then I breathed deeply. I can do this! I have a secret weapon for night times which are my downfall when it comes to snacking and when I tend to hover around the pantry and fridge. This secret weapon will be revealed all in good time. :)

This morning I weighed myself (gulp), took measurements (bigger gulp) and a ‘before’ photo (omigawd). However, these stats and the photo will remain private – a girl has to retain some mystery. :)

So the bike intervals were done – hot and sweaty work and 10 intervals seemed to take forever. This was followed by 1 minute of mountain climbers and then 1 minute of squat thrusts with the medicine ball. Can I just put it out there now that I hate mountain climbers with a passion. In fact, they are up there with burpees as things I don’t love at all. Anyway I started the mountain climbers at speed (stupid, stupid, stupid) and promptly died about 30 seconds in. How could it possibly be that only 30 secs have gone by? I did some more at a slightly slower pace. Still 20 secs to go. @#$%! Another one…or…two…or…three…done.quite.slowly…because I could hardly move at this stage! Ok, now let’s do some squat thrusts. Awesome! With a heavy medicine ball. Double awesome! Squat…now…what?! Stand up raising the heavy (did I mention this?) ball above my head. Do this for a minute. I cannot believe how out of practice and out of shape I am. Running certainly does not prepare one for this. Trust me on that.

Okay, now I can lie down. Thank goodness. Yes, yes, I know…it’s not rest time, its abs time. Three sets of three different abs exercises. I watch the video for each ab exercise intently and then try to mimic the action. Somehow I don’t think my efforts quite replicate Mish’s graceful actions but hey, it’s close (ok I look like a dying bug), and you know what, right now close enough is good enough.

Finally it’s time for stretches. Now this bit I like and I can feel the stretches doing me good. I confess I don’t do these stretches often enough so I will religiously do them as part of my program *cross my heart*. When the program says ’stretch’ I will stretch. :)

This afternoon I hit a brick wall figuratively speaking – yep, the dreaded mid-afternoon slump. I was almost face planting the keyboard. I’m blaming it on the early morning cardio session. I resorted to a caffeine kick (black coffee) as well as some afternoon tea (a designated, Mish-approved snack). Hopefully this is only a temporary state and I will soon get used to the early morning exercise sessions.

One day down; 83 days to go…

20130513-200443.jpg
This morning’s breakfast – apple & ricotta toast

6 Responses to “Operation Marshmallow to Muscle”

  1. Jen BrownMangulabnan (@SpartaJen) 13/05/2013 at 9:42 pm #

    I’m glad to see that you haven’t forgotten about my bike intervals :))

    • cathyn61 13/05/2013 at 9:58 pm #

      I’m following your program re the cycle intervals! Trying to work out how to fit swimming in!

      Sent from my iPad

  2. Ewen 13/05/2013 at 10:11 pm #

    That’s suffering. Apple and ricotta isn’t a patch on Magnum icecreams, sponge cake with jam and cream etc.. Think I’ll keep my marshmallow middle.

    • cathyn61 13/05/2013 at 10:14 pm #

      Apple & ricotta toast is actually really delicious. Well I like it a way and I’m the one who has to eat it!

      Sent from my iPad

  3. Louy 13/05/2013 at 10:29 pm #

    I hear you on just about every angle there Cathy! I died in the butt big time with mountain climbers and I have them in two sets this morning. I’ve just come home from netball and have contained my snacking to a cup of Turkish delight tea – closest thing I’ll get to the real thing for three months, hey! Which program have you picked?

    • cathyn61 14/05/2013 at 6:37 am #

      Hey Louy! I’m doing the Lean & Fit program and mixing it up between gym machines, outdoors and home. The cardio I’m tending to do cycling and running and hope to add swimming in there somewhere. This week will be interesting – hoping I survive! And I hate mountain climbers!!!

      Sent from my iPad

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 276 other followers

