Upsy Daisy Day

8 Jun

Did you know that it is National Upsy Daisy Day today? No? I thought as much.

This day is a day set aside to encourage you to face the day positively, and to get up ‘gloriously, gratefully and gleefully’ each morning.

National Upsy Daisy Day, an “unofficial” National holiday (US) was created by Stephanie West Allen is 2003. Her desire in creating National Upsy Daisy Day was to make humor, laughter and a positive attitude part of the Upsy Daisy Day way.

To be honest, I can’t say that I got out of bed gloriously, gratefully and gleefully this morning. No sireee. Mr CJ was working this morning so got up at his usual time and brought me a coffee before leaving, at 5.20am. However, I didn’t have to get up for another hour as the pool/gym doesn’t open until 7am on weekends. This gave me an hour when evil CJ tried to convince me that I didn’t need to swim today.

That just a gym workout would be enough…

In fact, maybe a walk later in the day might be enough…

Despite the fact that today is my SSS.

Truly, I’m better off waking up just before the gym opens, have my coffee, get ready and go. No time for thinking. No time for evil CJ to think up lots of reasons why I don’t need to go.

So I used the 10 minute tactic this morning: show up, do 10 mins and if I’ve had enough, call it a day. It was really the swimming that I was resisting. I was okay with doing the gym workout. But true to form, once I got in the pool I forgot about the 10 min rule and completed my swim session: 1km.

This was followed by 6 x 25m of pool walking in the shallow pool.

Up in the gym I alternated between bike and treadmill: a total of 20min on the bike & 25 min on the treadmill. In between there were lunges, squats, push ups, bridges, SSS twisting crunches and planks. Total time in the gym: 1hr 04.55min.

Continuing with the new food/recipe challenge, I made kale chips this afternoon which were delicious. And tonight for dinner, with the lemon & chilli marinated pork and roast pumpkin, I am having roasted Brussels sprouts with toasted almonds. :)

So all in all, I think I had an upsy daisy day! :)

“Everyday is a gift and if we remember that as we rise each morning, it will help us carry a good attitude throughout the day, whatever the day may bring us. Life is full of challenges and bumps in the road, it is our attitude that helps us over the bumps and through the challenges to move onward with a smile.” – Upsy Daisy Day, National Day Calendar

20130608-170821.jpg

10 Responses to “Upsy Daisy Day”

  1. Ewen 08/06/2013 at 6:27 pm #

    Mish, back off! Stop being mean to poor CJ!

    At least you had someone to bring you coffee in bed.

    • cathyn61 08/06/2013 at 9:11 pm #

      Believe it or not I’m enjoying the exercise, once I get going!

      Sent from my iPad

  2. energyandEmily 08/06/2013 at 6:51 pm #

    Reminds me of this gem of a website I stumbled across years ago: http://www.daysoftheyear.com/

    Upsy Daisy Day ,indeed! Your foodie adventures sound so good! What did you put on your kale chips? I’ve only made them once before.

    • energyandEmily 08/06/2013 at 6:52 pm #

      Upsy Daisy Day is actually on there too! haha!

    • cathyn61 08/06/2013 at 9:13 pm #

      I used a recipe from Sarah Wilson’s I Quit Sugar book – just kale, olive oil & salt. Very easy. Very tasty. And the roasted Brussels sprouts with toasted almonds recipe is a Weight Watchers one. It was also delicious. I enjoy cooking too which helps.

      Sent from my iPad

  3. michelle12wbt 09/06/2013 at 1:28 am #

    Glad you enjoyed your “Upsy Daisy Day”!

    • cathyn61 09/06/2013 at 9:33 am #

      I did. It was totally unexpected but a great day nonetheless.

  4. michelle12wbt 09/06/2013 at 1:29 am #

    Thank you Emily for mentioning this site, love it! http://www.daysoftheyear.com/days/upsy-daisy-day/

  5. Stephanie 15/06/2013 at 10:57 am #

    Thanks for mentioning my Upsy Daisy Day! Glad you enjoyed it.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 280 other followers

