A+ report card

18 Jun

This afternoon I had my physio appointment.

Had there been any improvement?

More importantly, would I be allowed to run?

What would my report card say?

Flashback to 5 weeks ago: doing 100m intervals. On the last one for the night I overdid it and felt that telltale crunch or pop, followed by an immediate stop mid-pace. Diagnosis: torn hamstring up at the attachment. How bad we didn’t know, without an MRI. The decision was made to treat it conservatively and see how it goes. The first week it was so sore – couldn’t walk far, couldn’t stand for long, even sitting was painful, given where the tear was.

I have been a model student, doing my prescribed exercises. And slowly, ever so slowly, I could do more. Now? Now I can do weighted lunges, squats, and hamstring curls. I can walk briskly (a surprise to many, including me!), use a recumbent bike and cross trainer. I’ve also followed my 12WBT program, working around the exercises I could do and substituting for those I couldn’t. No excuses.

And now? Now I can introduce short intervals of running during my walks, whether on the treadmill or outside. Woo hoo! Progress! I’m to use discomfort as a guide as to whether to continue, slow down or stop. Common sense really. I can also get on a conventional bike. And incorporate step ups in my program.

I also have some neural stretches to do to prevent scarring around the sciatic nerve, as the hammie heals.

I have a glowing report card – I’m an A+ student who applies herself diligently. :)

So, tomorrow it’s my cardio day. I’m off to the gym in the morning for a combination of the bike, cross trainer and treadmill and now I can include some…running! :) Glory be! Hallelujah! Woo hoo! And one helluva happy dance! :)

20130618-205132.jpg

2 Responses to “A+ report card”

  1. energyandEmily 18/06/2013 at 11:17 pm #

    Congrats! That’s great news!! Have fun tomorrow :)

  2. Sheridan Evans 19/06/2013 at 11:02 am #

    Great work Cathy – and good on you for continuing with what you could do rather than stopping AND especially for doing physio exercises. No wonder you came out with an A+. Enjoy the new world of exercise that is now open to you!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 277 other followers

