A day in the life of a 12WBTer

19 Jun

5.30am: weigh in day so I was out of bed and getting on the scales before having my regulation black coffee to kick start my day. Woo hoo! Lost 500g. That makes a total of 2kg lost since I started the program. Performed a little happy dance :)

6am-7am: workout time! This morning I had a cardio session and I was going to introduce some running. Omg this was going to be a big thing for me after 5 weeks of no running. Deep breaths!

I began with a 5min warm up walk on the treadmill before moving to the xtrainer for 10mins. On to the bike now for 10mins and then…this was it…10mins on the treadmill. Now I had to start trying some run intervals. On the treadmill screen I had the running track graphic and so I decided to alternate between 100m walks and 100m slow jogs. I had been instructed to run at the same pace as my brisk walking pace ie 6.5kph, so I certainly wasn’t setting a blistering pace! There were no problems with the running. Then it was on to my final 10mins on the xtrainer before finishing with 50 push-ups and 4 x 60sec planks.

And that was all I had time for before hitting the showers before the inevitable change room rush and scrum.

7.30am: finally…breakfast! Today I had oven roasted tomatoes on ricotta topped toast. It was also meant to have basil on it as well but my basil has withered and died in this cold weather and I only had coriander in the fridge. Oh well, it tasted fine anyway.

8.30am: work.

10.30am: tummy grumbles were telling me that it must be morning tea time. Ignored the half empty packet of Tim Tams on the table in the middle of our bay, and instead had corn thins topped with extra light cream cheese, chopped almonds and honey. Water! I must remember to drink more water. In this weather it’s so easy to forget even though I do have a bright blue water jug on my desk. I can hardly miss it!

12.30pm: meeting Mr B for lunch at Gus’s. Only problem is that I hadn’t anticipated it being so busy. The only tables available were outside and the heating wasn’t great. But I had no choice. I was hoping that the pumpkin soup I ordered would warm me up, along with long black. The soup might’ve done the trick if it had been a lot warmer than what it was – it was a bit of a disappointment. Thank goodness for good company!

4.30pm: feeling a bit peckish so I had an apple. This would keep me going until dinner…hopefully.

5.30pm: a brisk 10min walk to the car. It’s so cold even though I’ve got on a warm coat, scarf and gloves, as well as tights and boots.

6.15pm: start cooking dinner. Tonight we have Chicken Tikka curry with cauliflower mash. The chicken thighs had been marinating in a mixture of tikka curry paste and natural yoghurt since last night so it was just a matter of browning these in the frypan before adding chicken stock and coconut cream. I had doubled the recipe but now I realise I needn’t have doubled the stock and cream – too much liquid. Oh well, I’ll know for next time! There was enough left over for lunch tomorrow so that’s lunch sorted.

7pm: finally sit down to dinner. The curry was very mild but tasty nonetheless. And I’m not sure whether Mr CJ actually noticed that the mash was cauliflower and not potato. He didn’t comment anyway, and ate the lot!

7.30pm: pack the gym bag for tomorrow morning’s weight session. Put on a load of washing.

Now: doing my blog entry. Then I’ll have my nightly treat – a Jarrah hot chocolate. Maybe some knitting. Then off to bed. :)

20130619-202204.jpg

7 Responses to “A day in the life of a 12WBTer”

  1. Ewen 19/06/2013 at 10:04 pm #

    That’s good news about the running. Build up slowly and you’ll be fine I’m sure.

  2. energyandEmily 20/06/2013 at 7:57 pm #

    Ooooh I love this! A little snippet of your life on the program :) Good job on resisting the Tim Tams; Corn Thins are the best ever but oh my gosh they sound amazing with cream cheese, honey and almonds. Is that a 12WBT recipe?

    I’m glad to hear good reviews about the Chicken Tikka! We’re making that tonight :)

    • cathyn61 20/06/2013 at 10:01 pm #

      Emily, the corn thins with cream cheese, honey & almonds is a variation of the honey, almond & ricotta crunch recipe in the Snacks section.

      Sent from my iPad

      • energyandEmily 20/06/2013 at 10:03 pm #

        Oh I do remember seeing that! And I love corn thins! What a great variation!

      • cathyn61 20/06/2013 at 10:20 pm #

        I use corn thins because I have to eat gluten free and I wanted to try the recipe! :)

        Sent from my iPad

  3. Sheridan Evans 21/06/2013 at 10:09 pm #

    Wow! That’s a busy day – but true, it is a day in the life of… if I spelt it out like that mine would probably be similar. Especially the tummy grumbling at work!! I know exactly when it should be morning tea and lunch time, my stomach practically grumbles on cue these days!

    • cathyn61 21/06/2013 at 10:51 pm #

      My stomach is exactly the same!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 277 other followers

