4×4

22 Jun

I’m not talking about 4wd vehicles or off-road capabilities, but rather the gym workout I did this morning. :)

The gym session was a 4×4 session involving 4 mini circuits. Each circuit consisted of 3 exercises (4 sets x 12 reps of each exercise) plus a 400m run. I can’t really do this at the moment so instead of the 4 x 400m runs, I did a 5min session of either the bike, xtrainer or treadmill at the end of each circuit.

Warm up
– xtrainer 5min
Mini circuit 1 was legs, i.e. step ups, lunges and squat presses followed by 5min on the bike.
Mini circuit 2 was upper body, i.e. push ups, bent over row and tricep dips followed by 5min on the treadmill (this included some slow jogging)
Mini circuit 3 was lower body, i.e. one leg bridges, calf raises and hamstring curls followed by 5min on the bike
Mini circuit 4 was abs, i.e. side plank raise, sit ups and planks followed by 5min on the treadmill (some more slow jogging)
And finally…
5min on the xtrainer.

I still can’t increase the intensity of my cardio workouts but at least I can do more than even a couple of weeks ago, so I can’t really complain. The danger now according to my physio is that I’ll start doing too much too soon because I feel so good. So it’s slowly, slowly baby steps.

This afternoon it was time for my monthly treat: mmmmassage! Mind you, she was also working on the hammie to prevent scar tissue forming but even that wasn’t so bad. The rest was bliss.

And tonight we had the Beef & Red Wine Pie with Potato Topping, with a few modifications. The recipe was for a Beef & Guiness Pie but that’s not gluten free so hence the red wine. I also reduced the amount of stock from 2 cups to 1 cup, added only half the zucchini and also added mushrooms. For flavour, I added rosemary, bay leaf, garlic and some balsamic vinegar. My pie had mashed sweet potato as a topping (not really keen on mashed potato as a result of being brought up on Deb mashed potato as a child, yuk!) whereas Mr CJ’s pie was topped in buttery mashed potato and grated cheese. I have to admit his looked delicious! However both were delicious and worth the cooking time to make them.

20130622-202943.jpg

4 Responses to “4×4”

  1. Ewen 22/06/2013 at 9:54 pm #

    Would have been better with Guiness. Buttery mashed potato — mmmm!

    • cathyn61 23/06/2013 at 9:31 am #

      Yes but I can’t have Guinness! And the buttery mashed potato topped with melted cheese did look good if I say so myself. But my sweet potato topping looked and tasted good!

      Sent from my iPad

  2. energyandEmily 22/06/2013 at 11:00 pm #

    I’m so glad that you’re feeling so good but please do take it easy! You’ll be back at it in no time! Also wow all of your changes sound like that would have been one delicious pie!

    • cathyn61 23/06/2013 at 9:30 am #

      Thanks Emily. It was a really tasty pie and got Mr CJs approval. I read the comments on the recipe and liked some of the suggestions.

      Sent from my iPad

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 277 other followers

