There’s no such thing as bad weather…

24 Jun

…just inappropriate clothing. Or in my case, there’s always the opportunity to do a gym workout! No excuses! :)

This morning I headed out in the rain, got in my car and went to the gym for my cardio session. In previous weeks I have gone for a brisk 5km walk on a Monday morning but this morning it was raining. Now while I will run in the rain, walking is just not as much fun. The gym, at least is dry, and does give me variety in the types of cardio I can do. I love variety.

So I started with a 5 minute warm up on the xtrainer, before heading to the treadmill for a 20 minute session. Normally this elicits moans and groans from me (I have been known to call this machine the dreadmill) but not this morning. Just quietly I was feeling a little excited. Why? Because I was going to do 2 x 5 minute jogs at a slightly faster pace than last week, ie 9kph instead of 6.5kph. Excitement plus! This is what a torn hammie and not.being.allowed.to.run.at.all for 5 weeks can do! I was going to be alternating between a 5 minute brisk walk and 5 minute slow jog for 20 minutes. Amazingly the time went really quickly. Go figure.

I try not to stress about the fact that I have to go from slowly jogging 5 minute intervals to running 42.2km in about 4 months. Just breathe and believe it will happen :)

Then I head back to the xtrainer for some intensity – 7 minutes of 30 secs at level 8 followed by 30 secs at level 3.5. Again there has been no intensity in my cardio sessions up until now so this is progress. Woot!

Finally, 10 minutes on the bike to round out my Monday morning cardio.

After abs exercises and push ups and tricep dips it was time to go home for a filling breakfast of banana quinoa porridge. Just quietly, I love the banana that is drizzled with maple syrup and sprinkled with cinnamon and put under the grill for 5 minutes or so. Delish! Lunch today was an antipasto pita pocket and for dinner I had baked crumbed whiting with smoked paprika wedges, using snapper that had been caught and filleted by Mr CJ on his most recent sojourn to the coast.

20130624-201345.jpg

2 Responses to “There’s no such thing as bad weather…”

  1. Steve 24/06/2013 at 10:05 pm #

    I didn’t have the appropriate gear to run in the rain today, so raided “Lost Property”, found a nice warm jacket & ran for an hour. At end, simply returned wet jacket back to where there are more umbrellas, jackets, beanies & gloves. Winter wonderland of clothes.
    You are going well with this nice slow return, I hope the injury will heal in time for NY marathon.

    • cathyn61 24/06/2013 at 11:41 pm #

      Well the physio seems to think its possible. I’m not out to run a fast time or prove anything; I’m just planning to run it and enjoy the atmosphere. That is, after all, why I run. To enjoy the experience. I have nothing to prove.

      Sent from my iPad

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 277 other followers

