Only 39.2km to go!

28 Jun

This morning I managed a 3km jog without stopping or walking. Yay! So, in marathon terms I only have another 39.2km to run!

I dressed more appropriately for a run today – tights plus singlet and long sleeved lightweight running top. I looked more like a runner than the Michelin woman.

20130628-164254.jpg
Fortunately it wasn’t a frosty morning and it was quite pleasant to be out, even though it was still under the cover of darkness. At one point, early in my run, two dogs came rushing out from a yard, growling as they went. Ok, so they were only cocker spaniels but even so, they were growling. Do I stop, run faster or what? I can’t really afford to run any faster because I don’t want to aggravate the injury. Fortunately the owner came rushing out behind them, calling them back and apologising to me all in the same breath. Crisis averted!

The rest of the run was uneventful, thank goodness; I can’t handle too much excitement at 6am! Back home and it was on with a core strengthening session that mostly involved the swiss ball. But first the wall sit – I haven’t been able to do this since my injury. However today I managed 3 sets of 45 secs. Then there was a series of back extensions, superman, twisting crunches, squats, hamstring curls and hip raises – all with the swiss ball. And finishing with push ups and crunches with a medicine ball. A good workout all in all.

I’m having a hungry day. I’m not sure why – maybe the 3km jog?!!!!! If that’s the case, what will I be like once my distances increase?!!!

For breakfast this morning I had the banana quinoa porridge, topping it off with some raspberries. Lunch was a tuna and coleslaw pita pocket. Well this was a huge fail in the pocket department – it totally disintegrated in my hands today while I was trying to eat it. It was not a pretty sight! I had coleslaw and tune and pita pocket going in all directions, and not in the general direction of my mouth!

I went over to the Canberra Centre at lunchtime to buy some more Nespresso pods (and also to get a free cup of coffee). :) Today I tried one of the flavoured pods – the ciocattino. I’m not usually one for flavoured coffee but oh my, this tasted divine. Maybe it’s the chocolate deprivation I’ve been feeling since I started the 12 week program! Whatever, I bought 2 sleeves of the chocolate pods! It’s not sweet but instead tastes like a square of dark chocolate has been added to the coffee. Mmm mmm! I must try the caramel and vanilla ones at some stage.

And while shopping at Coles tonight I discovered their own brand of quinoa cups and quinoa and brown rice cups. Both are gluten free and will be so handy for adding to salads etc.

20130628-203950.jpg

8 Responses to “Only 39.2km to go!”

  1. gottagetfitter 28/06/2013 at 10:01 pm #

    Great post! :) Keep it up :)

    • cathyn61 28/06/2013 at 10:27 pm #

      Thanks Alex. Here’s hoping my hammy injury is over the worst and I can gradually increase my running back to what I was doing before this happened. Must stay positive!

      • gottagetfitter 30/06/2013 at 12:52 pm #

        Absolutely! :) Here’s hoping and stay positive! :)

  2. Chris Collins 28/06/2013 at 10:06 pm #

    Sounds like you’re making real progress, which is a great thing. If my experience has shown me anything, get into running gear sooner than later. It wont be pleasant getting the usual rubs/sores etc from bad clothing.

    As for the dogs, I’ve always found shouting back at them works really well. Keep it up!

    • cathyn61 28/06/2013 at 10:26 pm #

      Thanks Chris! Now that I’m doing more running than walking I’m wearing more of my running gear again. And I’m hoping that I don’t encounter too many dogs early in the morning.

  3. getgoing-getrunning 28/06/2013 at 11:41 pm #

    Nice one! By doing a lot of little increments a marathon will come. I bet in 3 weeks time you’ll look back on your first 3km run without walking and wonder what all the fuss was about, because you’ll be thinking it takes 3km just for you to get a sweat on!
    Keep up the good work!

  4. energyandEmily 05/07/2013 at 6:46 pm #

    3km!! Awesome work! Those chocolate pods really do sound divine! Also I’m starting to think that it would be best to just heat up a pita pocket, rip it up and spoon the other stuff on top like nachos or something instead of trying to tackle the falling-apart-ness. Maybe?

    • cathyn61 06/07/2013 at 7:23 am #

      I really do like the chocolate pods and for me it helps with chocolate cravings minus the calories.

      Sent from my iPad

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 276 other followers

