Number 5 is alive!

29 Jun

This morning’s workout at the gym involved the number 5 – 5 rounds of a metabolic conditioning circuit. And for some strange reason, it brought back memories of the 1986 movie Short Circuit that our boys loved to watch – I’ve lost count how many times we saw it!

short-circuit-number-5

Number 5

Each circuit included 20 reps of the following:

  • step ups
  • push ups
  • lunges
  • burpees (because of my injury I did one-leg bridges instead)
  • bent over row with barbell
  • tricep dips
  • barbell shoulder press
  • bicep curls with dumbbells

I started and ended the session with 10 minutes on the xtrainer.

I’m not sure if I could say that I felt  alive by the end of the session or totally knackered – probably a mixture of both! But the 5th round I was finding those barbell shoulder presses particularly challenging but I pushed through mentally by focusing on pushing the barbell up with each rep. And the final 10 minutes on the xtrainer, at a higher resistance, was just plain hard slog. Tired – knackered, stuffed, exhausted, worn out, fatigued.

But hey, that’s what the Saturday Super Session is all about – challenging myself and pushing through barriers. It just pain hurts sometimes but it feels so good once I’ve finished!

Hungry – famished, ravenous, starving, peckish. I need input! Food was looking pretty damn good by now so I was looking forward to the garlic and mushroom haloumi for breakfast. I must admit, this is not what I would normally have for breakfast  but I was willing to give it a go as I love haloumi!  Trust me, this was delicious – tasty, scrumptious, heavenly. :)

And to continue with the food theme – I had another tuna and coleslaw pita pocket for lunch and this time it held together. I also added wholegrain mustard to the yoghurt to give it some flavour oomph. And tonight for dinner we had the most amazing Moroccan lamb shanks. Omg, this was so delicious. The meat just fell of the bones and the sauce was delicious too. Even Mr CJ was mightily impressed with this dish. For dessert I had the rice pudding with raspberry jam whereas Mr CJ had apple strudel with cream. Hmm, guess which one was 12WBT-approved! :)

4 Responses to “Number 5 is alive!”

  1. Sheridan 30/06/2013 at 10:19 pm #

    Wow, that workout sounds tough, although I’m kinda tempted to give it a go!! And how good was the haloumi?? Best breaks I’ve had in a looong time – felt like I was treating myself big time!

    • cathyn61 01/07/2013 at 6:32 am #

      It is a great workout Sheridan. I see this week’s mini milestone is a biathlon. Should be interesting. And I’ll be having the haloumi breakfast again!

      Sent from my iPad

  2. energyandEmily 05/07/2013 at 7:11 pm #

    Oh! Good to hear about your pita staying together this time :P Also, sounds like an awesome Saturday sesh!

    • cathyn61 06/07/2013 at 7:22 am #

      Thanks Emily. Sometimes I can get the whole pita thing happening but it’s an art!

      Sent from my iPad

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 280 other followers

