Run fail

9 Jul

Not good news to report on the running front today. In fact it’s a case of one step forward and about 10 steps back. My hammie is really sore as I discovered while trying to run 4km this morning. I struggled through 1km and was then reduced to walking because it was getting too sore to run.

So what to do? At this rate there is no way I’m going to be running a marathon in early November. Even blind Freddy can see that.

I have a back up plan and its now being implemented. I will follow a marathon walking program. This will be a challenge for me because I am not a walker. I am an ambler! And if I was to amble along in a marathon it could take me all day to finish. Not quite what I had in mind. So a training program will keep me in check with an eye on my pace.

So while its not what I had originally envisioned doing, and given the choice I wouldn’t be doing, my goal now is to walk NY marathon.

20130709-090131.jpg

12 Responses to “Run fail”

  1. Chris Collins 09/07/2013 at 10:40 am #

    Rest, Ice, Compression, Elevation, Masseur, Pain killers, REST!!

    It’d appear you’re getting too many injuries for it to be co-incidence. Are you sure you’re not over training?

    My regimen: 1 day on, 1 day off. Big run on the weekend + 2 days recovery. Never do I run more than 2.5 hours. I am for a steady pace, even if that means I have to restrain myself at the beginning. I run hills as well as flat, trail as well as tarmac. Average distance is around 6km. And I can still knock out a 2hr 15m half with gas in the tank. Above all – no injuries.

    • cathyn61 10/07/2013 at 8:58 pm #

      Not overtraining. Recovering from a torn hammy. And the location if the tear means its going to take a while to heal. The tendonitis is probably due to changing the way I’m doing things to compensate for the torn hammy. I’m seeing a physio regularly.

  2. Ewen 09/07/2013 at 10:59 am #

    Gallowalking works well. http://www.nytimes.com/2009/06/02/health/02well.html?em&_r=0 Get your walking down to 9min ks – 50/50 with 6min ks jogging and you get a 5:15 marathon.

    • cathyn61 10/07/2013 at 8:56 pm #

      Interesting. I think I’ll have to have a look at this. Thanks Ewen!

  3. Kristen R. 09/07/2013 at 1:43 pm #

    Have you tried a run/walk training program (run 5 mins, walk 1 min, etc)? With the right rest, ibu and ice, you might be good to go for NYC. Fingers crossed!

    • cathyn61 10/07/2013 at 8:54 pm #

      Hi Kristen. I am now doing the Couch to 5km with the view to building on the time and distances. I’ll either be walking the marathon or doing a mixture of jogging & walking. Either way I’ll still be doing it.

      • Kristen R. 11/07/2013 at 12:46 am #

        Good! You will definitely cross that finish line!

  4. pjwill02 10/07/2013 at 6:48 pm #

    Hope the hammie heals up quickly and you figure out whats causing it. What I love about this post is that you arent letting it get you down, you’ve picked yourself up and worked out an alternative way to reach your goal. That in itself is awesome!

    • cathyn61 10/07/2013 at 8:52 pm #

      Thanks PJ. I know the problem with the hammy – I tore it up in the attachment 8 weeks ago. It’s just taking a long time to heal but that’s normal for this injury. I’ll just keep working at.

  5. Sheridan 12/07/2013 at 10:27 pm #

    Hi cathy, not a fail at all – you’ve decided on another form of action, and not thrown in the towel!! Good for you! And better still, you are still going to NYC!! How I wish I was going again too…

    • cathyn61 13/07/2013 at 10:39 am #

      Thanks Sheridan, I really needed that after this mornings woeful run effort.

  6. Steve 13/07/2013 at 3:21 pm #

    Must laugh, not make a comment. Get the joke, “Sheridan, throwing in the towel” haha.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 276 other followers

