Swings and roundabouts

12 Jul

I so didn’t want to get up this morning. I had woken at 3am and hadn’t been able to get back to sleep until…of course…about 30 minutes before the alarm went off. Obviously I wasn’t bounding out of bed full of vim and vigour, or even anything remotely approaching enthusiasm, to go for my walk around the block before doing my core strength exercises. But I had had yesterday off from exercising so I just had to suck it up and do it. Gosh I hate that sometimes! And it was so foggy outside – I definitely felt like I was venturing out into the gloom.

And confession time, though admittedly it’s not a huge indiscretion, but I ended up snacking more than I should’ve last night rather than just going to bed and reading a book. So what was I snacking on? Don’t laugh…some barbecued chicken and then some natural yoghurt. I know, it sounds hilarious – no chocolate, no cake, no chips. It all sounds too healthy. So I guess that’s saying something about the program – when I do snack off-plan it is at least healthy stuff. And I think the problem last night was that the pumpkin and goat’s cheese risotto that I had for tea, delicious as it was, just didn’t fill me up. I could’ve very easily eaten both serves!

Now a progress report – I lost 300g this week so I’m only 600g away from my goal weight. And as for my goal weight jeans, which I haven’t been able to fit into for 2 years, I can now wear them. In fact, I have worn them to work today. Okay so they are still a little snug around the waistband but not uncomfortably so. I just wish I could provide the same glowing updates on my running but oh well, I can’t have everything. Tomorrow I will incorporate the first week’s Couch to 5km session (8 x 1min jog/90sec walk) into my 8km walk.

So it’s been swings and roundabouts this week – some wins on the weight loss front but not going great guns on the running front.

20130712-204957.jpg

2 Responses to “Swings and roundabouts”

  1. Steve 13/07/2013 at 3:17 pm #

    Sometimes up hill is just plain hard work, until one day it all comes together and means something. Mostly it’s a long hill, almost never ending. Keep going Mrs Muscles, you’re doing great, love that you are still so positive.

  2. energyandEmily 14/07/2013 at 5:33 pm #

    Definitely some good snacking there :) we didn’t end up having the risotto…was it a small portion? Also wow you’re so close! Congrats on wearing your jeans too! That must have felt great :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 276 other followers

