Back on the straight and narrow

22 Jul

After a weekend of indulgences it is time to get back on the straight and narrow again. In some ways this is a relief because indulging doesn’t always leave me feeling great. It’s nice to be able to indulge once in a while, as for special occasions, but it shouldn’t become an everyday, or even every couple of days, occurrence. And I must admit I could’ve done without the additional chocolate and ice cream dessert yesterday but what is done is done, and there’s no use getting my knickers in a twist over it.

As I commented yesterday, I have changed to the maintenance program which means the number of calories I can consume per day has increased. I thought this would happen with my snacks but the recipes actually alter to include extra amounts. I noticed it with breakfast this morning. Today I had the breakfast crumble with cinnamon yoghurt. I used homemade stewed apple rather than the processed apple and strawberry puree called for in the recipe, so it was so much nicer and much better for me. I also had extra yoghurt and granola and the addition of walnuts. Yummo. So this ended up being quite a filling breakfast. And for dinner tonight I had extra feta and some tomato paste on my pizza. It’s the little things :)

Exercise-wise, I was up and out early for my 6km walk. It was very frosty this morning but I was wearing my cycling gear – thermal leggings and cycling top and jacket, as well as gloves. It kept me warm and toasty and I didn’t really notice the cold…well not much, except for my face! It was my fastest walk to date, with an average pace of just a whisker over 9 minute km/min. There’s hope for me yet!

20130722-201850.jpg

2 Responses to “Back on the straight and narrow”

  1. Ewen 22/07/2013 at 9:49 pm #

    9 minute ks is getting there. You’ll be down to 8s before you know it.

    • cathyn61 22/07/2013 at 10:03 pm #

      It’s hard work Ewen. I’m not a fast walker and it requires a lot of concentration.

      Sent from my iPad

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 277 other followers

