Cutting some slack

1 Aug

I wagged gym today. OooohwH! That takes me back to when We were kids – that’s how we’d respond if one of us had done something naughty!

But, do I feel bad? No.

We..e…ell okay briefly, I did beat myself up with the guilts. Then sensible, no-nonsense CJ took over, berated the over anxious, perfectionist, pain in the arse CJ for being so rigid and inflexible and then went back to bed.

Actually there was a reason. I’ve been battling something for about a month now and just haven’t been functioning at 100%. Some days are better than others. The last couple of days the-whatever-it-is has resurfaced and I feel like crap…again. So, even though I had my gym gear ready the night before and had my program organised, when I got up this morning the last thing I felt like doing was going anywhere, let alone to a gym. My head hurt, my body ached, and I was tired. For once though I actually listened to my body, decided to skip the gym session and go back to bed for another hour. Sometimes I just have to go with the flow and not stress about doing everything.

So yes, I cut myself some slack today.

It was the RSPCA cupcake morning tea today. Omg, the quantity and quality of the cupcakes was amazing. It was so good to see so many people baking for this worthy fundraiser and there was definitely no shortage of people wanting to buy them. I had made gluten free lemon surprise cupcakes – a vanilla cupcake with a lemon curd filling and cream cheese frosting. From all accounts these were delicious – I haven’t had one yet. Instead I had a gluten free carrot cake cupcake with cream cheese frosting, which was really, really, really delicious. Maybe it’s because it’s been a while since having a cupcake! (Since I wrote this post, I have had one of the ones I baked – one word.amazing!)

On the plus side, and it’s a huge plus, I am wearing a pair of work pants today that I haven’t worn for a couple of years and they fit comfortably. The best thing is they were a favourite pair of mine so I’m really happy about this. We are reunited! Lately I’ve had people comment on my weight loss so it must be noticeable now. I don’t really notice it – it’s only when I go to put on something I haven’t worn for a while and it actually fits and there’s no straining at the seams.

Finally, it’s no longer my clothes that are shrinking, it’s me!

20130801-212213.jpg

4 Responses to “Cutting some slack”

  1. energyandEmily 02/08/2013 at 1:37 pm #

    Oh your cupcakes sound delicious! I hope you sold them all! Also you definitely need to cut yourself some slack and listen your body every now and then, sometimes we just have bad days. Hopefully you are feeling better soon :)

    • cathyn61 03/08/2013 at 7:46 am #

      We made over $500 for the RSPCA so we’re very happy with that. Cupcakes are obviously very popular! Having the day off from exercising definitely helped – I felt so much better for it.

      Sent from my iPad

  2. crazytraintotinkytown 05/08/2013 at 3:27 am #

    What a fantastic cause and your cupcakes look lush

    • cathyn61 06/08/2013 at 6:58 am #

      We raised lots of money. There was a great variety of cupcakes for sale.

      Sent from my iPad

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 276 other followers

