It’s not easy being green

24 Sep

20130924-200752.jpgSo sang Kermit many years ago.

I was thinking of this song as I made my green…very green…breakfast smoothie this morning.

If you hadn’t noticed, green smoothies are the new black, so to speak. Everyone is drinking green smoothies these days – these smoothies are apparently brimming with anti-oxidants, good fats, lots of vitamins and minerals and guaranteed to have you glowing with great health.

So I wanted in on this new craze, just to see what it was like and whether it was worth the effort. I have to admit that I’m not usually a smoothie person, particularly when it comes to meals. I like some substance, crunch, snap, crackle and pop for my brekkie, not a beverage. To me, drinking my meal rather than eating it doesn’t feel as satisfying.

So there I was after my gym session (weights day today) tossing in to my blender the following ingredients – coconut water, avocado, mint leaves, baby spinach leaves, lime juice, SuperGreens powder, eye of newt, dash of mandrake…ok I did make up the last 2 ingredients!

My smoothie was looking very, very green.

As I switched off the blender and took off the lid the mixture was still bubbling, similar to what I imagine a swamp affected by blue-green algae would look like. Hardly conducive to drinking you might think.

And thank goodness Mr CJ wasn’t around to see it – I can just imagine the sort of comments I would’ve got from him. Put it this way, they wouldn’t have been very complimentary.

But actually my green smoothie was tasty and filling…for a while. Well until around 10ish in the morning when the hunger pangs started and I had to have something to eat.

So I’ve tried the latest craze. I will have it again, or variations on a theme. But the green smoothie won’t replace my usual brekkie food. I still prefer to eat my meals, rather than drink them.

Injury update
This evening I received a phone call from my physio. Seems he’s been talking to my sports doctor today about my ultrasound scan and problems with my hip and he (sports doc) wants to see me tomorrow afternoon. So fingers crossed… :)

4 Responses to “It’s not easy being green”

  1. michellejoycebond 24/09/2013 at 9:48 pm #

    I agree. Drinking a meal isn’t as satisfying. I tied green smoothies for a while then decided I’d rather cook and eat the greens then eat any fruit I added separately. Weirdly, it was the same amount of food, but I felt better. :)

    • cathyn61 25/09/2013 at 6:33 am #

      Glad to see I’m not the only one who thinks like that.

  2. Kristen R. 25/09/2013 at 8:59 pm #

    Hope you get good news from the doctor about your injury!

    • cathyn61 26/09/2013 at 6:35 am #

      Thanks Kirsten. I have a referral for an MRI. Hopefully I can get this done very soon.

      Sent from my iPad

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 280 other followers

