The packing dilemma

28 Oct

It is the day before I leave for Sydney, before heading off to New York. And true to form, I still have an empty suitcase. Why? Because I keep changing my mind about what to pack. I’m procrastinating. I can’t make a decision.

It’s easy, says everyone.
Just pack the bare essentials, says everyone.
Travel lightly, says everyone.

Fine.
But it’s not easy.
I confess I’m the world’s worst packer. I cannot travel lightly. It’s a genetic thing. Well, ok, I might be exaggerating a touch but I’ve had years of packing stuff…just in case. I start off with the best of intentions – the bare minimum but then a little voice pipes up and says, maybe you should throw in that top (or jacket, or dress, or pants, or jumper), just in case.

I’ve also endured years of I told you so’s, the alleged voice(s) of reason, the raised eyebrow, and also a million and one reasons why I don’t need to pack so much…from everyone.
You know, suddenly everyone is an expert and their way is the best way.
Which of course frustrates me no end. It’s a bit like people giving advice on how to taper, how to train, the best way run a marathon, etc. Which is fine if I’ve asked for advice.

And also I was at work today. So it was hard to get in the right headspace for packing. I know I’m going on holiday but it’s hard to get too excited when I still had meetings, last minute emails and other work things to do.

So either tonight (hasn’t happened yet) or tomorrow morning there will be this frazzled woman madly throwing all sorts of clothing items in her suitcase, hoping that somehow she will get an outfit out of it once she arrives at the other end!

Worst case scenario? I guess I’ll have to go shopping in New York! At least I have a shopping buddy. :)

There were no more long walks after Thursday’s cortisone injections. After a quick poll I was quickly made aware that doing a long walk on the weekend was probably not the wisest thing to do. So instead I did a weights session followed by a 45min xtrainer intervals session at the gym. And I’ll do the same again tomorrow…maybe. Then that will be it until Sunday 3 November 10.55am when I start the NY marathon.

20131028-204028.jpg

12 Responses to “The packing dilemma”

  1. jkkingston 28/10/2013 at 8:48 pm #

    I hate packing too! Running gear for the NYM and a credit card for everything else ;-). You are going to NY after all :-).
    Glad to hear you skipped the long walk. Your hip will be well rested and ready to get you through those 42.2 km.
    Have a blast, not that you need anyone to tell you that.

    • cathyn61 28/10/2013 at 9:32 pm #

      Thanks janene! I can’t wait to get on that plane regardless of whether I’ve packed appropriately or not. Holiday here I come!

      Sent from my iPad

  2. Sheridan 28/10/2013 at 9:13 pm #

    Never fear – shopping in NYC is awesome!! Just pack a few things (literally) and leave room for all the fantastic bargains!! And with the dollar in our favour at the moment you’ll kick yourself if you take too much!

    • cathyn61 28/10/2013 at 9:32 pm #

      Thanks for that. There’ll be a bit of shopping happening, I can definitely vouch for that.

      Sent from my iPad

  3. Steve 28/10/2013 at 9:40 pm #

    Take one of what you think you’ll need & buy good new stuff over there. Shopping for those that like shopping, will be fun in the Big Apple. Take care & enjoy

    • cathyn61 28/10/2013 at 9:51 pm #

      Thanks Steve. Can’t believe it’s almost here. Must’ve gone through my checklist a hundred times! Will be a relief to get on the plane.

      Sent from my iPad

  4. getgoing-getrunning 29/10/2013 at 7:03 am #

    Haha! My girlfriend is the same. I don’t have any advice on how to get your case packed right, but I would say this one thing. Take your shoes (and the rest of your race kit if it fits) in your carry-on bag.
    If the airline loses your luggage you can buy new clothes and even get new technical gear at the marathon expo. What you can’t buy is a pair of worn in shoes that your feet are ready to go 42.2km in!

    • cathyn61 29/10/2013 at 8:13 am #

      Thanks for that. I plan on taking my running gear in my carry-on bag. No need to tempt fate!

      Sent from my iPad

  5. Kristen R. 29/10/2013 at 12:58 pm #

    Good luck! Have a great time. I will refrain from giving packing advice because I always pack too much, then shop when I get there, then need another suitcase. It’s horrible and wonderful all at once.

    • cathyn61 29/10/2013 at 6:01 pm #

      We are kindred spirits when it comes to packing! However it’s now done and I’m waiting for my Sydney flight.

  6. Ewen 05/11/2013 at 9:07 am #

    You were just behind Pamela Anderson at 5k! I thought you were walking?!

    • cathyn61 11/11/2013 at 5:42 am #

      I did manage to jog/walk the first 20km, then I walked the rest. Never saw Pammie.

      Sent from my iPad

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 276 other followers

