Boathouse 5km & Zombie Hummers

7 Feb

So what’s the connection between the Boathouse 5km that I ran this afternoon and the Zombie Hummer? None whatsoever! But I pass the Zombie Hummer to and from work most days and given its colour and number plate it always catches my eye. So I finally decided to take a photo or three 🙂

As for the Boathouse 5km, second run of the Summer Series, it very nearly didn’t happen. I was at a training session all afternoon and while we were promised that it would finish early it didn’t. So I was clock watching for the last half hour before making a mad dash back to work, across Northbourne Ave to change, and then another mad dash up Northbourne Ave to my car which is parked 10mins away from work, and then negotiate the traffic to get to the boathouse event with about 10 mins to spare. So not bad except that I felt that I had already done my 5km just getting there! Had a very brief catchup with a CIT study buddy from a couple of years ago when I did my Certificate 111 in Fitness – she now runs Pilates classes out at Michelago.  It was lovely to catch up Jennifer even if it was right at the start of the run! And then had a bit of chat after the run with Ruth and Janene – so thanks for the company guys! And yes, Ewen, for the record, that was run #70 🙂

And how was the run? I found it easier than last week but that’s because we were running along the cycle path. For me that’s an easier surface to run than a grassy track. The weather was probably kinder too – didn’t encounter a strong breeze like last week. I cooled down quickly after the run though and haven’t been able to warm up since.

6 Responses to “Boathouse 5km & Zombie Hummers”

  1. Ewen 07/02/2012 at 10:01 pm #

    You did well to make it to the start in time. #67 for me then. I’ll be lost when your streak ends — will have to keep track myself 😉

    Goodnight. It’s past my bedtime!

    • cathyn61 08/02/2012 at 8:42 pm #

      What this about when my streak ends?! Are you referring to 31 December 2012?!

  2. Geoff Moore 07/02/2012 at 10:28 pm #

    The great news is that the temperature won’t exceed 22 degrees for the next 8 days. What a wonderful cool summer for maintaining streaks!

    • cathyn61 08/02/2012 at 8:44 pm #

      Though most of my running is done at 6am so usually not a problem with hot weather at that hour 🙂

  3. Janene 08/02/2012 at 2:26 pm #

    These running streaks are great :o). We must celebrate when Cathy gets to #100! I have a lot of catching up to do. Today will be #24.

Leave a Reply

