Catching up with friends

9 Feb

Catching up with friends. One of my favourite pastimes. Especially if it also involves coffee and/or food! Today was my regular brekky catch up with Strewth and Mr B at Cream. Breakfast is my favourite meal of the day and what better way than to share it with good friends 🙂 And then I had lunch with a Naturopathy study buddy, Sharron, at Babars. Mr N has gone to the coast for a boys weekend though they couldn’t have picked a worse weekend, weather-wise. Mind you, it wouldn’t matter what weekend they chose, it’s always crappy weather for the boys weekend! I think it’s a long-standing tradition!

I did a 11km run,  #72, this morning before brekky. It was dark when I started so I had to run along streets under the lights and then as it got lighter I ran along the cycle path.It won’t be too long before its dark for all of my early morning runs. So, so much for summer this year – we haven’t had one and I don’t think we’re likely to get one. Something I have discovered with my running is that for runs of 6km or less I struggle to get under 6 min kms but the longer I go the quicker my pace becomes. So it obviously takes me 5-6km to get into my stride! 🙂

2 Responses to “Catching up with friends”

  1. Ewen 09/02/2012 at 9:25 pm #

    That’s a classic marathoner’s problem. Try a 5k warm-up before the next Summer Series race 🙂

  2. Steve 09/02/2012 at 9:36 pm #

    It can me a couple of hours sometimes on long run Saturday’s to get going. Kills off any chance of a good km rate.

Leave a Reply

