Its my birthday!

4 Mar

It was still raining when I woke up this morning. Never mind, the run could wait until later in the day. A sleep in was far more important anyway. After the all important coffee and opening of presents, it was time to head off to Rocksalt for breakfast. This was delicious as usual, and the coffee was good too. A full bottle of water on the counter near our table was knocked off the counter and went flying before hitting the floor and spraying glass and water everywhere. Fortunately it missed us but did provide for some impromptu entertainment.

Later in the day Ruth and Mr B came around bearing gifts and the most amazing birthday cake – she is truly a cake maker/decorator extraordinaire as well as an amazing friend. The cake was totally gluten-free – how good is that! And to go with it was truffles, fudge, marshmallows and licorice. Its lucky I run on a daily basis – I need to! As you can see from the photos, a lobotomy and ear surgery was performed! 😉

I did eventually go for run #96 once the rain had stopped. It was pointless trying to avoid puddles, there were just too many so I splished, splashed and sploshed my way through for 5.6km. It was amazing how many people had come outdoors after the rain – there were spontaneous cricket matches, kids at the basketball courts, families at the playground, people out walking or running.

We also went for a drive to see the state of the rivers. This was taken out the back of Macgregor, of the Molonglo River.

5 Responses to “Its my birthday!”

  1. Ewen 04/03/2012 at 9:03 pm #

    I didn’t know it was your birthday. Happy birthday! I’ll put my order in for a piece of the cat’s guts.

  2. Steve 04/03/2012 at 9:09 pm #

    Run off the calories slowly over the next 364 days. Glad you enjoyed your birthday. Take no notice of Ewen, Ruth doesn’t bake him a cake for his birthday.

    • Strewth 04/03/2012 at 9:11 pm #

      This could be rectified if he’s nice to me Steve. I’m open to bribery. He has a birthday next month:)

  3. Strewth 04/03/2012 at 9:09 pm #

    You ran 1.6km over your intended 4km. Well done. Maybe the cake carbs gave you extra energy:) Looking forward to brekkie in the morning. Birthdays are supposed to linger. And the tap in the sky was turned off just for you. xx

  4. Geoff Moore 04/03/2012 at 9:18 pm #

    I’d recruit the same birthday cake creator in 8 weeks time but I don’t have a big enough bribe

Leave a Reply

