Saturday shuffle

10 Mar

Sometimes you need a little inspiration and a hefty dose of motivation to get out the door early when it would be so easy to hit the snooze button on the alarm, roll over and go back to sleep. A message from Michelle (above) was what got me out the door this morning. 5am came around so fast – normally I wake just before the alarm goes off but not this morning – it woke me, and with a start. I lay there, with my eyes closed, thinking how nice it would be to just stay there and doze off for a little while longer. I could run later in the day, I was silently reasoning to myself. I was *this* close to giving in but I resisted and got up. Later I would be glad I had run early in the day (and I was). Besides I need to take full advantage of my planned massage later in the morning and really I needed to run before the massage, rather than afterwards. So reluctantly I climbed out of bed to get ready for my long run. And it was a good run – lately my long runs have been hard work and I haven’t been in the right head space but this morning it was pleasant to be out running with hardly anyone about. So that was run #102 – a 20km run that started at 6am.

Tomorrow – I can sleep in! 🙂 I’m doing a short run later in the day.

7 Responses to “Saturday shuffle”

  1. Amanda 10/03/2012 at 8:32 pm #

    Nice work! Half the battle is getting out there hey!

    • cathyn61 10/03/2012 at 9:00 pm #

      Thanks Amanda – it certainly is, and this morning was especially hard. But once i was up and out the door, I was fine.

  2. Ewen 10/03/2012 at 8:49 pm #

    Cool note from Michelle. I need to find a better version of myself!

    • cathyn61 10/03/2012 at 8:59 pm #

      I’m a work in progress 😉

  3. Steve 10/03/2012 at 9:02 pm #

    Well done on the day’s activities. Lane 5 at Calwell oval is available whenever you make it down our way.

    • cathyn61 10/03/2012 at 9:12 pm #

      Too busy with study and work to go anywhere 😉

  4. Steve 11/03/2012 at 6:36 pm #

    Calwell is not the end of the world, it’s just down the Parkway.

Leave a Reply

