Goodbyes

11 May

My last day in WA. I had a 4.30pm flight in Perth to catch today so there was plenty to do before then. Mr B joined us on our morning trail run today. It was a short run of 5km and at least there were no rain today. Then it was a case of showering, having breakfast, last minute packing and cleaning before leaving our apartment. We stopped in town for a last coffee at Urban Bean then it was off to Gabriel’s Chocolates, on the way to Yallingup. Apparently Gabriel’s Chocolates is a new boutique chocolatier which opened around Christmas last year. The woman at Stella Bella winery spoke highly of this place yesterday so we were determined to visit before leaving the area!

Oh my goodness, You could smell the chocolate as soon as you entered the building – the thick velvety rich smell of quality chocolate. And oh look, more samples! We most definitely had to sample the different chocolates. This step was very important in the purchasing process ;). Then it was time for me to leave – I had a plane to catch. Ruth and Mr B could take their time over the hot chocolate and cookie (Ruth) and choc coated icecream (Mr B) they had purchased but I had to hit the road. So after our goodbyes, I grabbed my takeaway hot chocolate (well I wasn’t going to miss out!) I left – destination: Perth airport.

The trip to Perth was uneventful and the traffic wasn’t bad. I headed up the South Western Highway from Bunbury, passing through towns such as Brunswick Junction, Harvey, Waroona, Pinjarra and Serpentine. Then I was on the outskirts of Perth (Armadale) traveling down Albany Highway before turning on to Tonkin Freeway which would take me to the airport. I made it to the airport about 75 mins before my flight was due to leave.

So now I’m sitting on the plane heading to Canberra. We’ve just had dinner and a movie is playing (Haywire). Estimated time of arrival is 10.30pm. I’ve had a great week away but it will be good to be home, in my own bed again. One thing I’ve come to realise is that its not the location, weather, food, etc that makes a wonderful holiday but the great friends you share it with. And I couldn’t ask for better friends than Ruth and Mr B 🙂

20120511-054702.jpg

4 Responses to “Goodbyes”

  1. JogBlog 11/05/2012 at 10:57 am #

    I hope you don’t have to work today (Friday) and that you can ease your way back into the real world with a long weekend (including Mother’s Day :))

    • cathyn61 11/05/2012 at 5:10 pm #

      I go back to work on Monday 😦

  2. Steve 11/05/2012 at 2:57 pm #

    Have you overdosed on choccies, coffee, and the good life. Sounds like a great week on holidays.

    • cathyn61 11/05/2012 at 5:10 pm #

      That’s what holidays are for!

Leave a Reply

