Brrrrrrr………

25 May

What has happened to the weather?! It is almost blizzard-like conditions here – freezing cold, sleet, bitterly cold wind, it’s winter come early. I don’t think the temperature got above 10 degrees today & the apparent temperature would have been In the sub-zeros. It was a day for staying indoors, in bed preferably, with a good book. However the reality was that at 6am I was at the pool for my swim session. Last night I had misread my program & thought I had 1km to do. However a quick look at the program this morning & I discovered that I only had to do 500m. Win! Then it was to brekkie at Cream with Ruth & Mr B. At that time of the morning there were actually glimpses of blue sky. Huh! What a joke. We had no idea what we were in for!

I ended up doing a couple of kms on the treadmill at the gym later in the day. There was no way I was venturing out in that abysmal weather. Even just walking to the car after work it was awful. It was sleeting but because the wind was so strong I couldn’t use my umbrella – it would’ve just blown it inside out. Horrible!

Dreaming of warmth, sunshine & summer days 🙂

20120525-193013.jpg

5 Responses to “Brrrrrrr………”

  1. Ewen 25/05/2012 at 10:11 pm #

    I’m moving to Queensland.

    • cathyn61 26/05/2012 at 8:36 am #

      Or Darwin or the Maldives or Fiji or Bali or the Bahamas………..

      Sent from my iPad

  2. Steve 25/05/2012 at 10:45 pm #

    Harden up, I did 5.75 kms at lunch time, air temp 8 deg, hum 70%, light drizzle, wind cold & strong 25 kmph, apparant temp 4 degrees. Shirt & shorts, plenty more of this to come over next 3 months at least. Good value the treadmill.

    • cathyn61 26/05/2012 at 8:35 am #

      There’s a difference between harden up & stupidity. I’ll leave it to you to make the distinction. 🙂

      Sent from my iPad

      • Janene 26/05/2012 at 11:34 am #

        I also managed a short run at lunch time (5.5K). However, it was a reasonably sheltered loop, so I didn’t find the conditions too nasty. Walking to the car later was pretty evil!

Leave a Reply

