Early morning cycle session

29 May

It was back to training this morning. Today it was a bike intervals session on the windtrainer. I had set everything up the night before so I wouldn’t have to get things organised early in the morning, when the brain is not functioning at its best. So after the regulation early morning coffee I was up, dressed and on my bike, pedalling but going nowhere! That’s the downside of windtrainers – a bit like treadmills, exercise bikes and other stationary pieces of cardio equipment.

The windtrainer is set up out in the carport so I don’t have the luxury of heating (when its minus 2 degrees outside) or TV. However heating is not an issue because after the 10 min warm up I was warm enough and in fact, started peeling off outer layers of gear. The gloves I had brought outside with me, I never even attempted to put on. That’s the big difference between cycling on a windtrainer and out on the road – it might be boring but its warmer being stuck in the one place! I find that in cold weather I actually get colder on the bike due to the wind chill factor, no matter how hard I’m riding. It’s very different to running, where once I have warmed up, I am quite comfortable in the sub-zero temperatures (assuming I’m wearing the appropriate gear). With cycling, it doesn’t matter what I’m wearing I still get cold. Windstopper socks and neoprene booties? My feet still go numb with cold. Proper winter cycling gloves? After about 30 minutes I can’t feel my fingers. Face? Lips? Can’t feel a thing – they’re frozen.

The session went well. It was an intervals session involving 1 min in a hard gear and low cadence and then 1min easy spin. With a warm up and cool down, it ended up being 40mins on the bike and I was perspiring by the end. Not bad, given it was minus 2 outside! πŸ™‚

This was followed by a good recovery breakfast including protein and carbs – a poached egg with avocado, tomato and rocket on a toasted gluten-free bun.Β 

6 Responses to “Early morning cycle session”

  1. Steve 29/05/2012 at 9:57 pm #

    I’ve tried to find good bike riding gloves but nothing really keeps the cold out. Otherwise, riding in winter is good unless the wind blows off the snow capped mountains.

    • cathyn61 29/05/2012 at 10:42 pm #

      Depends what time of day you’re cycling. Given my work hours during the week it tends to be around 5.30am – chilly!

  2. Jen Brown (@Sparta_PT) 29/05/2012 at 10:00 pm #

    Under a carport??? Oh my. You are hard core. I’m seriously impressed! xx

    • cathyn61 29/05/2012 at 10:41 pm #

      Yes but I warm up pretty quickly on the wind trainer regardless of the temperature. Besides, I’m not allowed to have it inside the house! Remember, I am an Ironman πŸ˜‰ (couldn’t resist!)

  3. Jog 29/05/2012 at 10:49 pm #

    Guess means you’ve chased your lurgy away on the bike. Good on you!

    • cathyn61 29/05/2012 at 11:12 pm #

      It’s still hanging around Liz, but I’m slowly getting better. It’s got to a point now where I just need to suck it up & get on with it! No time to be sick πŸ™‚

      Sent from my iPad

Leave a Reply

