Week in review

3 Jun

Sunday – finally I have a chance to sleep in, and I make the most of it. I love a slow leisurely start to a Sunday morning which drives Mr N crazy as he likes to go, go, go. He paces, gets fidgety, is in and out of the house like a yo-yo, tries to hurry me along. But me – well, its go, go, go all week starting at 5.30am so to lie around until 9am, then get up and have a leisurely breakfast while reading the Sunday paper is something I really look forward to.

Weather-wise it was an improvement on yesterday so later in the afternoon I went for a 10km run. I was also trying out my new shoes for the first time and it was blindingly obvious that my old shoes lacked any sort of support at all! So note to self – buy new shoes more often and rotate use of shoes. One particular route I had originally planned on running including a crossing over a storm water drain. However yesterday’s run put paid to that idea because when I got there I discovered the path over the drain was under water and given I was wearing my brand new white (very white) shoes, I wasn’t getting them wet and revolting so soon. So I backtracked the way I came and headed down the alternate path going through Florey towards the lake. Otherwise it was an uneventful trouble-free run done in about 57 minutes.

So now for the week in review, which was all about recovery from a horrible virusy thing, ie a bad head cold.

Week beginning:

Monday 28/5: still sick – no exercise

Tuesday 29/5: bike – a 40min wind trainer intervals session

Wednesday 30/5: gym – weights session

Thursday 31/5: run – 8km

Friday 1/6: gym – weights session

Saturday 2/6: bike – 54min windtrainer session / swim – 1km – easy intervals

Sunday 3/6: run – 10km

Totals for the week:

Swim – 1km

Bike – 1hr 34min (wind trainer)

Run – 18km

One Response to “Week in review”

  1. Steve 03/06/2012 at 10:59 pm #

    New shoes, buy them to wear, then don’t like to get then wet or dirty. What about the fashion stakes, white shoes & black socks. Ruth won’t like that.

Leave a comment