Blue skies

6 Jun

The sun is shining, the sky is blue. Well it was earlier today. However the clouds did roll in as the day wore on. But though the sky was blue, the temperatures hadn’t risen – it was still cold outside with a biting wind. But as long as I can see blue sky I’m happy – I take pleasure in the small things during a Canberra winter! It’s the dark, dreary, wet days that I find really difficult, and that’s when I start wishing I was somewhere, anywhere, warmer.

I slept like a baby after last night’s spin class and so it was a bit of a shock to be awakened by the alarm this morning – gosh, is it that time already?! An activity that I find really hard to get excited about during winter is swimming, and that was the plan for this morning. There’s something just not right about getting into bathers at 5.45am when the temperature is in single digits. Fortunately it was only a short swim and I’m sure it did me good after yesterday’s weights session as my upper body muscles are feeling a little tight today. I was first in the pool and had managed to swim a couple of laps before other people decided to choose ‘my’ lane (note how I get possessive about my lane!). Which is fine, I am all about sharing…………..but they were doing breaststroke. What is it with me and those wishing to do breaststroke – I seem to attract them, like a magnet. I glance over with envy at the other lanes where people are cruising up and down the pool swimming freestyle, unencumbered by other swimmers’ arms and legs going all over the place, and managing to swim at a moderate pace, but if I was to move into one of those lanes, guaranteed the next person to get in after me would be swimming breaststroke s-l-o-w-l-y, down the middle of the lane.

Anyway we did seem to have an unspoken pact this morning – you stay up your end of the lane and I’ll stay down mine, and we’ll pass in the middle. It seemed to work! πŸ™‚

[internet playing up tonight – will post photo tomorrow *fingers crossed*]

20120607-205423.jpg

4 Responses to “Blue skies”

  1. Steve 06/06/2012 at 10:14 pm #

    The other swimmers are attracted to your muscles. And so they should be.

  2. Ewen 06/06/2012 at 10:15 pm #

    Can’t wait for that. I love photos of a black line πŸ˜‰

  3. Ewen 06/06/2012 at 10:16 pm #

    Your time is wrong CJ. It’s 9:15, not 10:15! Nearly had a heart-attack – thought I’d missed my bedtime!

    • cathyn61 06/06/2012 at 10:25 pm #

      Having a few IT problems tonight! I’m lucky I got anything up!

Leave a Reply

