It’s a girl thing

11 Jun

20120611-200459.jpg
photo: Peter Gibney.

Crop tops. Necessary for running. Shopping for them however is not fun unless you know exactly what you are buying. Fortunately I have been buying one brand for so long now that it’s just a case of going to Rebel Sport and hoping they have them in stock and in my size. Running Bare is my go to brand for great crop tops that are “designed to make you look and feel fabulous”. Whatever ;). They do the job and they are Australian made.

So no need to wrangle and wrestle with crop tops in the change room anymore – I have memories of trying to get a small, tight item over the head, while at the same attempting unsuccessfully to untwist it as one arm is stuck up and can’t move, with the large swing tag and plastic security tag having somehow got caught up in an armhole and requiring the whole item to be untwisted several times, and meanwhile the whole item needs to be pulled around to the front to do the job it’s meant to. By the time you get out of the change room you feel exhausted, bruised and covered in red welts and scratches from tags and bunched up fabric. Ah, memories 🙂

But back to training. This morning it was a 10km run before breakfast, on a grey, cold morning. A bit of a change from the last couple of mornings which, while being very chilly, were all about blue skies and sunshine. I really found it hard to get into the run today and almost talked myself out of it at the 2km mark, thinking I would run later when hopefully it would be warmer. Well how stupid would that be! I was out there running now so just keep going. I would thank myself later, or not. And 57 minutes later I had finished – yay!

“Run like hell and get the agony over with.” – Clarence DeMar, seven-time Boston Marathon winner.

20120611-200439.jpg

3 Responses to “It’s a girl thing”

  1. Jog 11/06/2012 at 10:21 pm #

    My sore knees can fully relate to Clarence’s sentiment – ie, the shorter/faster the better because shorter/faster = less time to be in pain.

    • cathyn61 12/06/2012 at 6:16 am #

      I actually thought of you when I saw that quote on my calendar!

      Sent from my iPad

  2. Vicki 12/06/2012 at 12:34 pm #

    Oh God, I agree with you about the crop top thing. Who likes pulling their shoulder muscles taking off a bra!! But, when nothing else works what can you do?!

Leave a Reply

