A She-Devil spin session

12 Jun

After a busy day at work there’s nothing better than fronting up to she-devil’s spin class to be smashed for 45 minutes. Well I can say that now after the class but for most of the day, and especially the afternoon, I was busy thinking up reasons why I really couldn’t go. But none of them really justified a good reason hence I showed up for the class.

Not only that but I managed 20mins on the xtrainer before the class so I was well and truly warmed up for the class. And I think that’s the secret to surviving the class – warm up well beforehand so you are ready to fire right from the get-go. Which you really need to in her class – she’s tough. No fans or air conditioning is allowed – you just sweat it out.

I worked my butt off in that class tonight and felt great once we’d finished. Yes, there were times when my quads were so tired and all I wanted to do was ease off on the resistance but I kept plugging away, knowing that it had to end eventually. It was a good class 🙂

This morning it was a weights session at the gym. I combined two supersets into one circuit – a combination of squats with a weight plate, push ups on toes, hip raises with weight plate on a swiss ball, and squat jumps with a medicine ball. As well as the circuit I also did supersets of upright rows and bicep curls with barbell, and step ups with weights plus triceps dips.

Then it was lunch with my favourite ultra runner at Two Before Ten 🙂

So today was a good day.

3 Responses to “A She-Devil spin session”

  1. Kelly @ My love affair with running 12/06/2012 at 11:57 pm #

    Spin classes are so painful.. but so rewarding when you finally finish!

    • cathyn61 15/06/2012 at 6:57 am #

      Don’t I know it! I always start these classes with trepidation but as the session wears on I’m really glad I made the effort to show up. Her classes are definitely hard work.

      Sent from my iPad

  2. Steve 13/06/2012 at 2:17 pm #

    That was a big day. I would have been looking for a snooze mid afternoon to get thru She-Devil session.

Leave a Reply

