Monday motivation

2 Jul

Another week, another training session…or five or six. Being Monday morning it was back to the pool for a 1km swim. I enjoy this swim session (apart from the early hour on a Monday morning) after a long run and a long cycle on the weekend. It wasn’t as busy as it has been for the past couple of weeks but I’ve been informed that water polo training has finished so that means more lanes for us.

Then after work it was back to the gym for a 55min cardio session – 15 min xtrainer intervals, 25 min rolling intervals on the treadmill and a 15 min hill program on the bike. Wowsers, it was one helluva workout. Welcome to Monday! It certainly let me know I was alive 🙂

I tried watching the Tour last night but it’s a struggle given my early starts. I think I’ll be referring to my Skoda Tour tracker app for the next 18 stages!

So, I’m almost at the end of my second month of  my Road to Port Mac program and have just been informed by SpartaJen, my awesome PT/friend, next week is week 16 which means my ‘proper’ training starts. This means that she’s upping the ante in my sessions to build fitness and speed. I hope she won’t be too hard on me 😉

 “Do the difficult things while they are easy and do the great things while they are small.” – Lao Tzu

5 Responses to “Monday motivation”

  1. Dylan 02/07/2012 at 10:32 pm #

    Talk about monday motivation… I’ve done my run for the day, but this post makes me want to make it a two-a-day! Happy monday!

    • cathyn61 02/07/2012 at 10:44 pm #

      Hi Dylan, have a great Monday. I do 2 sessions a day 4 days a week (sometimes 5 days). Thats the challenge with triathlon training – trying to train in all 3 disciplines during the week. Sometimes there’s just not enough days in the week!

  2. Janene 03/07/2012 at 1:32 pm #

    You are going to be even more fit and more amazing after all of this!

    • cathyn61 04/07/2012 at 10:28 pm #

      Well I’m hoping so! Well at least fit – not sure about the amazing bit but thanks anyway! 🙂

      Sent from my iPad

  3. Jen BrownMangulabnan (@SpartaJen) 05/07/2012 at 11:39 am #

    I won’t be *too* hard on you 😉

    Your fitness is coming along so quickly; I have absolutely no doubt that you’ll be able to handle anything I can throw at you 🙂

Leave a Reply

