Supercharged, super healthy and super tasty

6 Jul

I love Fridays! Not only is it the last day of the working week but it’s also my rest day. So this means a sleep in (until 6am) and no rushing around to get ready and out the door to go to a gym or run or cycle or swim. Well I still need to go to work but at least I can have my breakfast in a leisurely fashion and not have to gulp it down or take it with me to have at my desk.

This morning I had an awesome breakfast – healthy, filling and most importantly tasty. Definitely a breakfast of champions as it contained quinoa (an ancient super-grain that is chock full of protein and good for you in so many ways), stewed apple, some left over stewed rhubarb and ginger, a couple of oven roasted strawberries (seriously, if you have any strawberries that aren’t as juicy or ripe as you would like, roast them in the oven – they turn into little blobs of absolutely sweet deliciousness), and a dollop of natural yoghurt. I also added a tablespoon of 180 protein powder  which contains the following goodies: grass-fed whey protein isolate, flaxseed, almond meal, sunflower kernels, coconut flour/shredded coconut, cocoa, pumpkin seeds, sesame seeds, chia seeds, psyllium, inactive brewer’s yeast and stevia. Whew! So it was definitely a bowl full of healthiness, but you know what was the the best thing? It tasted delicious! After all, what is the point of eating food if it doesn’t taste delicious as well?! Flavour and taste is very important to me. I love healthy food but not if it tastes like cardboard.

And continuing the healthy food theme, for lunch I had broccoli soup. It’s something Mr N would look at and then screw up his nose. Why? Because a) its green (what self-respecting soup is green, I can hear him muttering), and b) who eats broccoli anyway? From that one can deduce that he doesn’t eat broccoli and you’d be correct! In our house, there is an unwritten but understood Mr N-approved list of veggies – these being peas, potato, cabbage, onion, mushrooms (sometimes), beans, and corn. They say opposites attract – well I’m vegie-obsessed and he’s a vegie-phobe! So where my plate will be piled high with a colourful assortment of veggies at mealtimes, his plate looks quite dull, drab and boring in comparison. But I digress. The broccoli soup was delicious, especially with a toasted gluten-free bun, topped with ricotta cheese, though sometimes I use mashed avocado. Broccoli is another ‘superfood’ and it’s health benefits are attributed to plant compounds called isothiocyanates – to put it simply, these compounds are known to be potent in the prevention of disease and against various cancers. Broccoli is a powerhouse of protective nutrients and phytochemicals that help to keep the immune system robust and vigilant, make bones strong and healthy, maintain optimal digestion and ensure healthy detoxification.

And this weekend I am planning on making hummus from scratch. I’ve bought a bag of organic Australian grown chickpeas and they are soaking in water, as I write, and will do so until tomorrow morning. It is said that home-made hummus made from dried chickpeas tastes far superior to hummus made from canned chickpeas and that there is no comparison with commercial products. We shall see. I will report back tomorrow.

Also tomorrow the plan is that I will be running in the middle of the day when it should be warmer (and, well, to be honest, allows me to have a sleep in!), and swimming later in the day when hopefully the pool will be less crowded. 🙂

 “Don’t tell me the sky’s the limit when there are footprints on the moon.” – Michael Jordan

2 Responses to “Supercharged, super healthy and super tasty”

  1. Ewen Thompson (@EwenThompson) 06/07/2012 at 10:15 pm #

    I wish you’d stop. I’m going to have to get a new cook.

  2. John 07/07/2012 at 4:43 am #

    All you need is some honey drizzled over the yoghurt.

Leave a Reply

