Chilly cycling

8 Jul

I have never felt so cold as I did this morning when I left home at 7.30am to ride into Civic to meet up with the FIT girls. It was minus 5 degrees without adding in the wind chill factor of being on a bike and moving. I quickly lost all feeling in my fingers and toes and was quietly wondering when frostbite would set in.

I had also underestimated how long it would take to ride to the arranged meeting spot in Braddon. There is a strict starting time of 8am and if you’re late then you just try to catch up with the group. There is no waiting for stragglers. So guess who made it into Civic after 8am? Moi! So I had to cycle on and hope they weren’t too far ahead.

Several large bunches of cyclists passed me on the way out to Federal Hwy – a very popular cycling route. But no sightings of the FIT girls. I decided that they were probably too far ahead and I had no chance of catching them so made the decision to ride as far as Eaglehawk and then turn and head home. According to my program I had an easy 90min ride to do and this would probably be enough. I did warm up slightly while out on the highway – whether it was the long uphill as you first head out or just that there is no tree cover so you do get to feel the sunshine, feeble though it is, I’m not sure.

Heading back I turned onto Antill St and back into the shade and the chill. By the time I got to Northbourne Avenue intersection I had lost feeling in my hands again. My face was also frozen. Everything was frozen, except for an extremely runny nose which was driving me crazy.

By the time I got home, I had ridden just over 45km in 119 freezing minutes. Never have I been so glad to get under a hot shower! I also found out a bit later that the girls had decided this morning to do a loop in north Belco and Dunlop – so I was never going to see them out on the highway today! 🙂

“Step forward with purpose, passion, positivity and confidence, and make your world the best it can be.” – Ralph Marston

2 Responses to “Chilly cycling”

  1. Janene 09/07/2012 at 8:52 pm #

    I took up running during the winters and only did a bit of wind training indoors when I lived in the US – even though cycling was my focus. I don’t know how you do it! Do you have a MTB? It’s much easier to keep warm doing some MTBing, more shelter, less wind chill!

    • cathyn61 09/07/2012 at 9:43 pm #

      I don’t have a MTB but basically I’m training for a tri that includes road cycling so my focus is the road bike. Its a case of suck it up and hope for warmer weather! If its really bad there is always the windtrainer.

Leave a Reply

