Steady as she goes

14 Jul

It had to happen eventually. Feeling below par, under the weather so to speak. Not sure if its something I’ve eaten or whether its something going around. But I had a lacklustre night last night and not feeling particularly great today. I tried to shake myself out of this funk by doing an 11km interval run and while I was ok while running (and managed an average of 5.08min/km for the 11km – including jogging rest intervals) I needed to have a lie down afterwards because I felt so…well, crap.

So I’m not sure if a swim is going to happen later today. I may leave that for tomorrow afternoon. Its a case of steady as she goes. If I need to rest and get over whatever it is I’ve got, so be it.

This afternoon I did get an urge for chips – something salty and crunchy. So instead of buying the high fat, overly processed versions I made baby spinach and sweet potato chips. Seriously moreish, especially sprinkled with freshly ground pepper and sea salt. I had been craving kale chips for the last few days, ever since someone at work brought in kale chips from home. They are seriously addictive. However, I haven’t been able to find kale in the vegie section of the shops so decided to try baby spinach. Just as good but a little more fragile. So I’m still on the hunt for kale.

“You will get what you want, when you stop making excuses on why you don’t have it.” – Author Unknown

 

2 Responses to “Steady as she goes”

  1. Janene 14/07/2012 at 6:13 pm #

    I’ve been ridiculously flat and tired all week and have spoken to some others that feel the same. I wonder if there is some weird virus circulating?
    Great 11K interval session despite your tiredness!

    • cathyn61 14/07/2012 at 6:51 pm #

      Thanks Janene. Really not feeling great now so will be an early night and fingers crossed I will cycle tomorrow. Hate having to miss sessions.

Leave a Reply

