A love/hate relationship

16 Aug

Intervals. I have a love/hate relationship with them. I know they are good for me – strength and speed-wise but they are such hard work. This afternoon’s bike session involved intervals and a hard gear = burning quads and lactic acid. Fun, not!  The 3 minutes in a hard gear seems to go forever and yet the 2 minute easy spin just flies by. Time is so elastic! So it was an hour of fun before dinner, which, by the way, was a fan-bloody-tastic Mediterranean chicken dish. Just throw chopped zucchini, yellow squash, cherry tomatoes, button mushrooms, rosemary, garlic, olives and chicken thigh fillets in a casserole dish (I used a cast iron frypan), put in the oven for 45 minutes until the chicken is golden and cooked through. It smells delicious and tastes even better. It was definitely worth the wait even though I was close to inhaling the contents of the pantry while I was waiting! Doing an intervals session can do that to a person 😉

This morning I did a 1.6km swim session. I was feeling pretty happy with my stroke for the first half of the session – I really felt like I was gliding along with good technique (can I just point out that I am not a swimmer – it does not come naturally to me). But then I had to use a pull buoy for the second half of the session. Well it was back to reality; any form and technique I had just went down the plug hole. My balance was out, I couldn’t coordinate my arms with my breathing and I felt like a boat without a rudder, with absolutely no sense of direction at all. I finally had myself sorted out by the 1.4km mark of a 1.6km swim and swam 100m beautifully with the pull buoy, before my cool down lap!

Today Guzman y Gomez opened its doors in the Canberra Centre. They were offering free burritos and at lunchtime there was a queue that wound its way around the block. Canberrans love their freebies! A similar thing happened last weekend at Gelatissimo at the Belconnen Mall, though the queue was not as long. I will check out Guzman y Gomez at some stage….once the crowd dies down!

Tomorrow: its my rest day! I get just a tad excited by this fact because it is such a luxury to stay in bed until 6.30am and then to be able to get up and have a leisurely breakfast before heading off to work. I do love my rest days! 🙂

“Pain is temporary. It may last a minute, or an hour, or a day, or a year, but eventually it will subside and something else will take its place. If I quit, however, it lasts forever. That surrender, even the smallest act of giving up, stays with me. So when I feel like quitting, I ask myself, which would I rather live with?” ― Lance Armstrong, It’s Not About the Bike: My Journey Back to Life

2 Responses to “A love/hate relationship”

  1. Jen BrownMangulabnan (@SpartaJen) 16/08/2012 at 11:38 pm #

    You are on fire! Loving your commitment & dedication 🙂 PS We are still on track for spending the weekend of the 25th/26th in Canberra. Can’t wait to catch up with you x

    • cathyn61 17/08/2012 at 6:43 am #

      That’s great news Jen. Looking forward to catching up.

      Sent from my iPad

Leave a Reply

