Wild wintry weather

17 Aug

Freezing cold. Chilly. Wintry. Sleet. Snow. Bone chillingly cold. Bleak. Windy. Rain. Grey. There’s really no other way to describe today’s weather. It has been wild wintry weather.

Thank goodness it was a rest day today because it wasn’t the day to be doing anything outdoors.

I’m madly praying to the cycling gods for decent weather tomorrow morning for my 2 1/2 hour ride followed by 20 minute run. Otherwise I’ll be sitting on my bike on the wind trainer for 2 1/2 hours 😦

On the upside I do have a massage appointment later in the morning which I am really looking forward to. She has some tight muscles to loosen up plus she needs to knead out some knots and kinks that have been developing since I last saw her a month ago.

Today’s photo is of some of the meals I have had eaten today as part of my highly tuned and nutritionally balanced triathletes diet 😉 What is not on there is the small (note: small) glass of champers and handful of dried apricots, grapes, dates and cashews I had at farewell drinks for a work colleague this afternoon, plus dinner at the Mall tonight – stir fried tofu and eggplant in sweet chilli sauce with steamed rice.

Tomorrow: the plan is to do a 2 1/2 hour cycle followed by 20 minute run, followed by a well-earned massage later in the morning. Tomorrow night we are going to see the Man in Black stage show featuring Tex Perkins (and no, I’m not the Johnny Cash fan). The things I do……. 😉

“There’s no such thing as bad weather, just soft people.” – Bill Bowerman

 

5 Responses to “Wild wintry weather”

  1. Ewen 17/08/2012 at 10:46 pm #

    That’d be a good show! Nothing wrong with Johnny Cash. I’ve been missing your posts – have been in bed early this week (lurgi). Good luck with the ride/run. Hope it’s not snowing.

    • cathyn61 17/08/2012 at 11:03 pm #

      Hope you’re on the mend. If the weather is anything like today I won’t be on the road – too dangerous plus it would be horribly cold and miserable.

  2. Steve 17/08/2012 at 11:32 pm #

    A nice day in Sydney for a one day trip. The harbour looked a picture from the 13th floor of a building on Macquarie St. But never again if I can help it going to centre of a big city.

  3. Steve 17/08/2012 at 11:33 pm #

    I do hope you get a fine sunny day on Saturday for the bike ride. Otherwise, boring is a word that comes to mind for 2 and half hours on the wind trainer.

    • cathyn61 17/08/2012 at 11:50 pm #

      My thoughts exactly!

      Sent from my iPad

Leave a Reply

