Weekend hangover

20 Aug

I feel hung-over. Not in an over-indulged-in-alcohol sort of way but rather a very-active-weekend sort of way. Probably the better and healthier hangover to have, though maybe not as much fun…initially, anyway! I’m feeling tired and blah and my legs are just so over carting me around today. In fact, my body is just saying stop, enough already, give me a break, I want to do nothing, nada, zip, zero, zilch. No surprises there really – it was quite a weekend and I haven’t had one of them in a while. In fact, its full credit to my training program that I have come so far. Just a few months ago if you’d mention doing a 60km ride on Saturday and back it up with a 21km run on Sunday, I would’ve said you’re dreaming. Well I did it and I wasn’t dreaming!

Anyway it was a smart decision to have an unscheduled rest day today. Too much of a good thing can sometimes be too much of a good thing, if you get my meaning. Rest and recovery is very important. Mind you, apart from the expected tiredness I’ve pulled up well after the weekend’s exertions. I think there’s something to be said for cross-training.

I enjoyed a delicious, protein packed breakfast this morning – apple quinoa with cinnamon and yoghurt. Quinoa is a high protein gluten-free seed that can be used for both sweet and savoury dishes. I tend to use it instead of cous cous or rice, and its great for breakfast.

Tomorrow, I’ll be back into training once again. The plan is to do a weights session in the morning and the first of 2 bike intervals session for the week, after work.

But for now…..I’ll kick back and enjoy the break!

“That’s the monster that’s human nature. We train to look good to other people, to look good to ourselves, to justify the cost of a coach, or as some sort of inoculation against the fear that we won’t have what it takes on race day. But we rarely train for the only reason that matters: to be the best we can be in body and mind, and deliver our finest possible performance on race day, regardless of the result.” – Chris ‘Macca’ McCormack, 2-time Ironman World champion

5 Responses to “Weekend hangover”

  1. powerfulbeauty 20/08/2012 at 7:16 pm #

    Do you have the recipe for that!!! It looks delicious and sounds so healthy. If you do I would love if you shared it with us…or at least me…hehehe.

    • cathyn61 20/08/2012 at 8:23 pm #

      Sure.
      Apple quinoa with cinnamon & yoghurt
      1/4cup quinoa, rinsed & drained
      1/2cup water
      1 small apple, quartered & cored (finely chop 3/4 of apple & grate 1/4)
      Cinnamon
      Natural yoghurt
      Optional: tbs protein powder

      Place rinsed & drained quinoa, water & chopped apple in saucepan & bring to the boil. Reduce to simmer. Cover & cook until water is absorbed, approx 10min. Turn off heat, stir in protein powder if using, & allow to sit for a further 5min (keep lid on).
      Spoon into bowl, top with grated apple, sprinkle with cinnamon & top with yoghurt. Serve & enjoy!

      • powerfulbeauty 20/08/2012 at 8:47 pm #

        Thank you so much!!! I can’t wait to try it out!

  2. Steve 20/08/2012 at 9:55 pm #

    The training works for the back 2 back days due to short term recovery being better. Before the 48 hour, I ran back to back marathons with the 2nd one being much quicker than the first. Tired for the next couple of days, but generally Ok. Take it easy early this week, then really consolidate ready for next weekend. Good luck, you are going well. Sorry I didn’t catch up with you on Sunday, may be this this weekend.

    • cathyn61 21/08/2012 at 6:28 am #

      Yep, don’t think I’ll be going gangbusters this week. Will definitely take it easier until fully recovered. Happy with my progress so far.

      Sent from my iPad

Leave a Reply

