Dialling it down

21 Aug

It was back to the gym this morning for a weights session. The tiredness I felt yesterday had gone and I felt okay, though my calves are still a little tight. However while doing my session this morning I noticed my heart rate was higher than usual considering I was doing weights. This was an indication to take it easy with my planned sessions today so I don’t overdo things and risk falling into over-training territory. I completed the session but I definitely dialled it down on the intensity.

This afternoon was the first of my two bike intervals sessions for the week. My legs were definitely feeling it when I was in the hard gear and those minutes seemed to drag. The intervals probably weren’t done with quite the intensity that I normally give them but that’s ok. The main thing today is that they got done.

Tomorrow: the plan is to swim before work and then do a run after work. Not sure of the distance for my run – I might go on how I feel.

“We must be the change we wish to see.” – Mahatma Gandhi

2 Responses to “Dialling it down”

  1. Steve 21/08/2012 at 10:02 pm #

    A good time to do ” go on feel” training, leave the intensity out for a while.

    • cathyn61 22/08/2012 at 10:08 am #

      Having said that I had a really good lung buster session in the pool this morning. So I think it depends on what I’m doing – running & cycling are less intense at the moment because they involve my legs, but I can go harder in swimming. Cross training does have its advantages.

Leave a Reply

