One lap at a time

11 Sep

What a difference a day makes! And who’s bright idea was it to do a weights session the day before my swim session?! 😉

Yesterday may have been a routine day, exercise-wise, just show up, do the session, go to work, or home, depending on the time of the day, no dramas. This morning it was so different. I really struggled in the swim, especially with the dreaded pull buoy and it doesn’t help when I have to swim a total of 1.25km with this accursed device. My arms and shoulders felt heavy from yesterday’s weights session and at times it was a real effort to lift them out of the water. Today my technique truly sucked!

So I focused on one lap at a time and didn’t think any further ahead than the current lap. Given that I had to swim 2.3km that was a lot of laps! It was busy in the pool (no surprises there) and there was an unofficial squad in the fast lane next to us, which seemed to be a lot of big guys who move a lot of water when they swim (right into my face when I breathe to that side). In my lane there was a mixture of people with kick boards, fins, doing backstroke, freestyle and butterfly – though I can’t recall anyone doing breast stroke. While it may have been busy to start with, by the time I finished it was definitely a lot quieter! Never have I been so glad to swim that last 50m and get out of the pool than I did this morning.

And what is it with swimming that makes me so hungry? By the time I had breakfast (admittedly almost 2 hours after getting out of the pool) I was starving, and once I had eaten I was then thinking about my next meal. And it’s been like that all day. This only happens on the days that I swim – why?

And then later today it was time to smash my already smashed legs on the bike for 54 minutes, before another weights session tomorrow morning! 🙂

Tomorrow: the plan is to another weights session in the morning and go for a 45 min fartlek run at lunchtime.

“Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.” ― H. Jackson Brown Jr., P.S. I Love You

2 Responses to “One lap at a time”

  1. crazytraintotinkytown 12/09/2012 at 1:25 am #

    Love the quote!

    • cathyn61 13/09/2012 at 10:52 pm #

      It’s a great quote & one to live by!

      Sent from my iPad

Leave a Reply

