6 weeks to go……

16 Sep

1 month, two weeks……42 days….however I look at it, the big event (aka the BHAG) is really not that far away. I alternate between wanting to get it over with so I can then relax (I’ll be on holidays) and thinking, hang on, not so fast, I haven’t finished training yet!

I enjoyed my sleep in this morning. By god I needed it – I was so tired after yesterday’s session. But by lunchtime I was out there again, plugging away on my Sunday session – the long run. The weather was a bit of a mixed bad today – foggy to start with, a bit of sunshine, a bit of cloud, some wind. In any event I soon warmed up on my run along the cycle path down to Lake Ginninderra. I decided to run for 9km then turn and come home the same way. The plan also was to run it at a steady pace – not too fast but not dragging my feet either. In the end I ran 18km in 1 hour 38.54 minutes, a 5.29min/km average with a strong head wind on the return trip.

Tonight we had some more of that Orange/Lemon Delicious pudding – it tastes even better the next day. 🙂

Tomorrow: the plan is to hit the weights in the morning and then do run intervals on the treadmill after work (if the hip flexor is not sore – I’ve been having some niggles the last 2 days. Fingers crossed its nothing serious).

“I have heard there are troubles of more than one kind. Some come from ahead and some come from behind. But I’ve bought a big bat. I’m all ready you see. Now my troubles are going to have troubles with me!” ― Dr. Seuss

2 Responses to “6 weeks to go……”

  1. Steve 16/09/2012 at 9:23 pm #

    Any niggles that last a day or more need to be addressed now. That may mean another rest day or treatment, not pushing through. Go swimming instead, much better than weights or intervals at this stage. You can’t get to the finish line if you don’t get to the start line. Take care, be flexible.

    • cathyn61 16/09/2012 at 10:30 pm #

      Weights should be ok. I’ll reassess tomorrow whether to do run intervals. Swimming on Tues. Hope cycling is not causing a prob.

Leave a Reply

