Flexibility…

19 Sep

Northbourne Avenue

….is what my body needs physically; what my training program has to incorporate; and what my mindset needs to embrace. As that line is John Lennon’s song Beautiful Boy so eloquently puts it, life is what happens when you’re busy making other plans.

I have been to the physio and have been poked, prodded, stretched, with legs pulled this way and that, told to bend over and touch toes, do one-legged squats and so forth. The verdict? He thinks the niggly nagging pain is most likely muscular (hallelujah to that) with maybe some hip involvement. Hmm, seems like there’s been some stress to the area!

Now for the tricky bit – what I can and can’t do for the next couple of weeks. I don’t have to stop training (double hallelujah) but I do have to modify it. How? And here is where I start mentally freaking out as I add up all the sessions I’m missing (it’s 5 weeks this Sunday to the event) and the effect this will have on my overall training and the actual event – but let’s not go there. I will act responsibly and maturely like the adult that I am (and I so want to stamp my feet and pout) and resign myself to the restrictions that have been placed upon me *sigh*.

No running for another week – this will be reviewed next week.

Only easy spinning sessions on the bike – maximum of one hour at a time and easy intervals. Can do three sessions a week and can be done outdoors or on the wind trainer. This is the biggie for me and is causing the most stress because I consider any lost time on the bike is detrimental to my training – I really suck at cycling and need all the time on my bike.

Swimming is ok but no breaststroke, which is a no-brainer for me given my utter dislike for this stroke.

I also have to do stretches /release work for my lower back, glutes and hip flexors on my right side.

I have another appointment next week.

Postscript: received some very wise and very welcome words this afternoon: “No. 1 rule right now is – don’t panic! I want you to think only about the next 24 hours. Stop counting down to race day. Only think about the next 24 hours, and what you can do in that time, so that this time tomorrow you are in a better position than you are today. You’ve got *stacks* of time before race day and 5 months of training under your belt. Remember – the next 24 hours only!” 🙂

“I think exercise tests us in so many ways, our skills, our hearts, our ability to bounce back after setbacks. This is the inner beauty of sports and competition, and it can serve us all well as adult athletes.” – Peggy Fleming, 1968 Olympic champion figure skater and three-time World champion

 

8 Responses to “Flexibility…”

  1. John 19/09/2012 at 9:16 pm #

    You’ll be better for the break in the long run, but I can imagine how difficult it is.

    • cathyn61 19/09/2012 at 9:25 pm #

      I am trying to be mature and sensible about this which is a new approach for me! Besides I’ve invested too much time in my training so far so don’t want to ruin it now. I will listen to my physio and coach and do what I’m told….for once in my life 😉

  2. Strewth 19/09/2012 at 9:19 pm #

    Wise words in the postscript and so true. Five months of solid training has set you in good stead – a little easing off for a week will do more good than harm and help prevent real injury. You are totally awesome:) xx

    • cathyn61 19/09/2012 at 9:27 pm #

      I hope so – my fingers are crossed. I’m also strecthing like a crazy woman! Making up for lost time 😉

  3. Steve 19/09/2012 at 10:17 pm #

    Ok, stamp your feet & pout !! Won’t do any good but will make you feel better. Time to listen to the experts & do as you are told. Guess you won’t make monthly handicap on Sunday ? Lunch sometime ?

    • cathyn61 20/09/2012 at 6:23 am #

      No handicap but lunch sometime sounds good 🙂

      Sent from my iPad

  4. Janene 20/09/2012 at 7:27 am #

    It’s a bit ironic this whole exercise gig. Not so long ago you mentioned how you felt the cross training was keeping you injury-free and then POOF! A similar thing happened to me with the calf. Be confident in your awesomeness 🙂

    • cathyn61 20/09/2012 at 10:45 am #

      It’s all good 🙂 I guess it comes down to quantity ie load. The last couple of weeks have been quite heavy. Probably the hilly ride a couple of weeks ago also added to the stress on muscles. Swimming is going great 🙂

Leave a Reply

