Celebrate ALL achievements

11 Oct

Warning! A rant ahead……..

I believe we should be cheering on, supporting, celebrating everyone’s achievements when it comes to all things fitness. Whether it be running 5, 10, 21, 42 or 100km, achieving a PB at crossfit, doing week 3 of Couch to 5km, doing a triathlon (whether it be a sprint distance, HIM or IM and everything in between), Pilates, whatever. Lately I’ve been reading or hearing of mean spiritness and a misguided sense of  athletic superiority eg only an ultra is considered ‘real’ running etc and this saddens me. It saddens me because why can’t we just celebrate any type of athletic endeavour, acknowledge and applaud the effort that each individual puts into their chosen activity. Given the troubling statistics showing rates of  increasing obesity, with more and more people being sedentary and suffering lifestyle diseases such as heart disease, type 2 diabetes, various cancers, etc, I think we should be applauding anyone who gets out there and makes a difference in their own lives, regardless of what the activity is. Not everyone can be an elite athlete, or even a good athlete (whatever that means) but, in all honesty, it’s the effort that counts.

And please when someone responds to what you may have written about your training or the doubts that you might be feeling in respect of an event you are training for, by telling you that you will be awesome, don’t shoot them down for saying that, in some misguided belief that its putting pressure on that person. You know what, I am awesome! 12 months ago I was just starting out running again having most of last year off due to a torn hamstring, and now fast forward to the present and I am just over 2 weeks away from competing in a half Ironman triathlon, yes I believe I am awesome. Awesome for giving it a shot, for training my butt off for the past 5 1/2 months, and at least giving it a go.  It won’t be a fast time, I won’t qualify for anything, but having a BHAG has got me off my butt and motivated to do something that not a lot of people will do. It doesn’t make me superior to others, it doesn’t make me a ‘real’ triathlete or athlete, but that’s not the point of doing something like this. I wanted to see if I could do this, for me, nobody else.

So please, applaud the achievements of everyone who is out there keeping fit, training for events, just starting out on the road to fitness, returning from injury. Everyone is a champion. Celebrate your awesomeness – no-one can take that away from you 🙂

Ok, rant over…….back to my training program and tonight I celebrated my awesomeness 😉 by doing the second of my bike interval sessions. As part of this session there were 4 big hills – well, virtual ones! I had 4 x 10min in a moderate-hard gear so I visualised cycling up long hills. This was hot sweaty work which was no mean feat given that my wind trainer is outdoors, in the carport. The rain was pouring down outside, at least I was under cover but it wasn’t exactly warm (well not until I warmed up on the bike and then I was hot!).

Tomorrow: the plan is a 2.4km swim session before work.

“Life is a journey, not a destination.” ― Ralph Waldo Emerson

ps WordPress is playing up at the moment and I can’t post a photo – will try again tomorrow 🙂

7 Responses to “Celebrate ALL achievements”

  1. Jen BrownMangulabnan (@SpartaJen) 11/10/2012 at 9:44 pm #

    You ARE awesome! I’m so in awe of what you are doing after so long away from the sport.

    And yes, I agree with your sentiments 🙂

    xx

    • cathyn61 11/10/2012 at 9:55 pm #

      Thanks Jen, couldn’t have done it without your support and guidance. For that I am very grateful. You have kept me on the straight and narrow, and sane! 🙂

  2. Janene 11/10/2012 at 9:47 pm #

    Yes, you are awesome and such an inspiration. I’m sorry to hear you have encountered such elitist negativity :(. Thanks for the rant, a good reminder of what really matters 🙂

    • cathyn61 11/10/2012 at 9:57 pm #

      Its not just been directed at me but I am a little tired of people putting others down because of what they do. Tonight I am celebrating my awesomeness!

    • Ewen 13/10/2012 at 10:13 pm #

      Yes, good post CJ. Hope the rest of the taper goes well. If I do a CJ tomorrow you won’t hear about it 😉

  3. The Landy 11/10/2012 at 10:13 pm #

    I’m totally with you, no need to apologise for a rant! It is all relative, a 5ker might be harder for someone than another doing a full marathon… I love stories of people achieving, no matter what it is…!! Great post!

    • cathyn61 11/10/2012 at 10:16 pm #

      Thanks! I admire anyone who gets out there and gives it a go – it doesn’t matter how far or how hard it is. Its the personal effort that counts.

Leave a Reply

