A nice day for a run

11 Nov

Today was day 4 of low-key training since returning from Port Macquarie:

Thursday 8/11 – swim / bike

Friday 9/11 – run

Saturday 10/11 – bike

Sunday 11/11 – run

The distances haven’t been long and the intensity has been low. I’m still feeling some residual tiredness so I’m not pushing it and there’s no need to anyway. I have no events planned for the remainder of this year.

After a sleep in and general lie around this morning I had a delicious ricotta and herb egg-white omelette with toast for breakfast. I swear breakfast is my favourite meal of the day!

Today was a very low-key, lazy sort of day with nothing planned, other than a run later in the day.

By the time I did get out the door for my run it was about 2.30pm and sunny and warm…very warm actually, once I started! It was an 8km fartlek run however I must point out that the ‘faster’ sections of the run weren’t particularly fast, just faster than my slow pace! The reason for doing a fartlek run was because it helps makes the time pass and mixes up the pace rather than running at one pace the entire time. That, for me, sums up boring.

Tomorrow: the plan is to swim early, before work. About a kilometre is the plan.

“I don’t wait for moods. You accomplish nothing if you do that. Your mind must know it has got to get down to work.” – Pearl S. Buck

4 Responses to “A nice day for a run”

  1. rohan7things 12/11/2012 at 2:06 am #

    I’m not much of a runner, but I’d certainly love to take a stroll around the area in the photo, beautiful pic! Just what I needed to see on this chilly Autumnal day in Dublin 🙂

    Nice post!

    Rohan.

    • cathyn61 12/11/2012 at 5:26 am #

      Fortunately we are slowing edging closer to summer and warmer weather. It’s been a long and cold winter this year.
      Thanks for reading!

  2. Girls Run Faster 13/11/2012 at 12:57 pm #

    An 8k run is a perfect fartlek run… are you finding it’s helping increase your speed? I’ve really been trying to do sprints and track work lately to give me the ability to run faster!

    • cathyn61 13/11/2012 at 1:44 pm #

      Absolutely! I try and incorporate one faster session (fartlek or intervals) at least once per week. It not only mixes things up, makes the time pass more quickly but also helps with speed.

Leave a Reply

