Klutziness

15 Nov

I had a really bad case of klutziness today (I don’t know if there is such a word but I’m using it anyway!). Everything I touched I either dropped or knocked over, or things didn’t work; and I tripped, slipped and walked into things. I was truly a klutz today.

I did another weights session at the gym this morning – again it was quiet in the weights room. So it meant I didn’t have to wait to use particular machines or benches – always a bonus. There was a brief face-off regarding a squat rack. I had set up my light-ish weights on the bar, my stuff was sitting next to the rack, and I was returning with a barbell for the bent-over rows exercise I would be doing as part of a superset with squats, when 2 beefy guys had shown up and started rearranging my weights. They just assumed they could walk in and use the squat rack, disregarding the fact that someone’s stuff was sitting there. I rocked up with my barbell and informed them that I was using the squat rack and stood my ground. He started to say something, then shrugged his shoulders and then moved off to the other, free, rack……but not before removing the bar brackets and taking them with him….without asking whether I needed them. And no, I didn’t need them but he could’ve at least asked. What an arrogant s***. People like that give gyms a bad name. The important thing, though, is not to let them intimidate you.

I’m also experiencing some DOMS today as a result of Tuesday’s gym session. Which is a positive sign – it means my workout was effective. There is a difference between DOMS and pain that indicates potential injury. One indicates that strength and growth will occur (as a result of the overload response), the other indicates something is wrong and should be investigated.

And it’s all becoming a little deja vu-ish at work which is scary – it’s starting to feel very much like March all over again, when I was working 11-12 hours a day on urgent stuff. 😦

Tomorrow: the plan is to swim before breakfast. Then I’m meeting a friend for lunch at one of my favourite cafes – Two Before Ten cafe. At least I have something to look forward to!

“Listen to the mustn’ts, child. Listen to the don’ts. Listen to the shouldn’ts, the impossibles, the won’ts. Listen to the never haves, then listen close to me… Anything can happen, child. Anything can be.” ― Shel Silverstein

One Response to “Klutziness”

  1. Dash 15/11/2012 at 11:22 pm #

    Ugh, I hate those people who take over the free weight section with their huge sense of entitlement (and usually really poor form!), good for you for standing your ground!

Leave a Reply

