The warm up

21 Nov

The swim warm up is always a struggle. After the first 50m, which always feels good, the next 250m is just plain hard work. I have to keep telling myself that it will get better and it does. Once I get into the main set I’m fine – but oh the hard work to get to that point.

So as you may have guessed I was back in the pool this morning for my second session for the week. Two down, two to go.

This morning the session was a lot of 50m sets, intensity increasing with each 6 x 50m set. It was a short but hard session and without the warm up it would’ve been a lot harder.

At lunchtime I went for a short run. Again it was a hard and slow warm up until I got into a groove with my running. Normally it takes me a couple of kms of running until I feel good, which is a problem if its a short session! Today the session included 7 x 200m hard with 200m easy running. At lot of this was done running into a headwind just to make it more difficult! šŸ™‚ and it was very warm by the time I finished.

Tomorrow: the plan is to do my second weights session for the week and a bike intervals session on the wind trainer. And lunch with Ruth šŸ™‚

“Believe in yourself and all that you are. Know that there is something inside you that is greater than any obstacle.” – Christian D Larson

20121121-211116.jpg<!

6 Responses to “The warm up”

  1. The Landy 21/11/2012 at 9:33 pm #

    How many swimming sets would you normally do??

  2. crazytraintotinkytown 22/11/2012 at 5:48 am #

    What a fab pic!

  3. asterisk 22/11/2012 at 8:22 am #

    A sunrise like that makes it worth waking up early šŸ™‚ Kim*

    http://www.100days100ways.wordpress.com

  4. Sara.Pixley@nab.com.au 22/11/2012 at 9:47 am #

    Hi Cath, Well done on continuing your rather intensive training even after your big event! I often struggle with that.

    How do you keep your interest in the water- I find that I am very good at steady state training but I don’t know how to do anything more intensive.

    xx S

    One day at a time 21/11/2012 08:13 PM Please respond to “One day at a time”

    To sara.pixley@nab.com.au cc

    Subject [New post] The warm up

    cathyn61 posted: “The swim warm up is always a struggle. After the first 50m, which always feels good, the next 250m is just plain hard work. I have to keep telling myself that it will get better and it does. Once I get into the main set I’m fine – but oh the hard work to “

    • cathyn61 23/11/2012 at 5:31 am #

      Hi Sara. For example: I do swim sets such as 6 x 50 at a slightly faster pace than I would normally do, or alternate fast and easy laps. Or swim 25m then easy for the rest of the lap. Just mix up the pace with your laps and build on those over time ie either add more laps, swim faster, or reduce the rest period.

Leave a Reply

