Stop! I want to get off!

7 Dec
7 Dec 2012_Xmas in the arcade

7 Dec 2012_Xmas in the arcade

There are times when I have to ignore what my exercise program says and go with what my body is telling me. This morning was one of those times. I was tired and really didn’t feel the slightest bit enthused or motivated about getting out of bed to go cycling. This is not to say that other mornings I’m jumping out of my skin to get up and exercise for the day! I usually can tell when it’s just my body initially rejecting the notion of getting out of bed to go and do something but once I’ve had my coffee it all seems bearable, but there are other times when it’s like meh, nope, not doing it and I really do mean it. I’m.not.getting.up.

I don’t have regular rest days scheduled into my exercise program because I’m not actually training for anything, apart from staying fit and healthy. So the way I see it, if I need a rest day then I’ll take it otherwise I’ll just plug away with my daily exercise regime. Consistency is a big thing for me and as long as I’m doing something most days then everything is ok. However, I have to be careful because deep down I am essentially a lazy person (yes I am!) so give me an inch and I’ll take a mile. In other words, give me a rest day or two and they can easily become three, four or five in one week if I’m not careful! Case in point – when I get an injury it’s very easy for me to drop the ball and give in to my sloth-like tendencies!

So today became a rest day.

Life is hectic at the moment – work is unbelievably busy (whoever said that things wind down coming up to Christmas?!) plus there are all the Christmas things that need to be done ie buying presents, posting presents and cards (I’m great at buying the cards and then leaving them in the drawer and forgetting about them until two days before Christmas!), wrapping presents, buying Christmas food, etc. This is where exercise really comes into its own – it’s a great stress reliever and if I didn’t have it I’d be a screaming mess! 🙂 But sometimes, like today, I need a break from exercise too.

Tomorrow: the plan is to cycle in the morning and go for a swim in the afternoon. In between I have lots of Christmassy things I really should do.

“Learn from the past, set vivid, detailed goals for the future, and live in the only moment of time over which you have any control: now.” – Denis Waitley

Leave a Reply

