Don’t think, just do

17 Dec

17 Dec 2012_don't think, just doSometimes it pays not to think about what needs to be done but to just do it. I know, for me personally, I have a tendency to overthink my training program i.e., analysis paralysis. So today my motto was ‘don’t think, just do.’ Short and snappy and every time I noticed my mind starting to fixate on what training I had to do, when I was going to do it, and then the myriad of reasons why I can’t do it, I’d recall this motto.

Worked a treat!

This morning was a 1.3km swim session – my first for a week. It began with an easy 300m warm up followed by 6 x 50m at a slightly harder pace. Then I swam 6 x 50m with the pull buoy (we have become friends) followed by another 300m swim, again at a slightly harder pace. Finally I finished with a 100m cool down swim. It was a better session than I had initially thought, given I’m coming back from a week off due to illness.

Tomorrow: the plan is to run before work and then do a bike intervals session after work.

“It is more fun to talk with someone who doesn’t use long, difficult words but rather short, easy words like “What about lunch?” –  Pooh’s Little Instruction Book, inspired by A. A. Milne

 

2 Responses to “Don’t think, just do”

  1. Jen BrownMangulabnan (@SpartaJen) 17/12/2012 at 8:28 pm #

    Good work!

  2. asterisk 18/12/2012 at 7:27 am #

    Love Pooh! Kim*

    http://www.100days100ways.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

