Happy days

28 Jan

dance love sing liveSome days I wish I could bottle the joy, excitement and the pure happiness of the day so that when things aren’t going so great I can release the stopper and relive those same emotions. Today was one of those days.

Mind you, I had no idea that that was how today was going to pan out, when I woke this morning. However, the fact that I could get out of bed and not have to shuffle hunched over to the bathroom should have been an indication of good things to come! My back was behaving itself, after yesterday’s run. Woot!

Later in the morning I went to Flight Centre to try to work out our planned holiday to the States in November. I had tried sorting out the flights myself yesterday but found it very confusing and it would have ended up being a lot more expensive. So now flights are locked in and paid for – to New York, Las Vegas, San Francisco, Los Angeles and Hawaii. Excitement plus!

Met Ruth for coffee at our favourite coffee place and for a chit chat – two of our favourite past-times! 🙂

And then received a phone call when I got home to find out that I am now a great aunt. My gorgeous niece Jess had a baby girl this morning. She was due next week so only a week early. Everything went to plan and both Jess and Lily are doing well. So now to do my great aunt duty and go and buy lots of baby gifts – I get the fun part! 🙂

Finally I went for a 14km run. I had been putting this off for as long as possible but eventually it was crunch time – suck it up and get out there. And surprisingly it was a really good run. Given that yesterday’s 6km was pretty bloody awful, having a good run was a bonus and just what I needed. It was very humid when I started the run and then the rain started in the last few kilometers – not that I minded, it was refreshing.

So it was a great day today. I wish all days could be like this but then again, if they were, then we probably wouldn’t appreciate these special days as much as we do, when they happen. 🙂

“What day is it?” It’s today,” squeaked Piglet. My favorite day,” said Pooh.” ― A.A. Milne

 

3 Responses to “Happy days”

  1. crazytraintotinkytown 29/01/2013 at 2:35 am #

    Loved your thoughts for today – if only we could!

    • cathyn61 29/01/2013 at 5:55 am #

      Wouldn’t it be lovely if we could! Still, then maybe it wouldn’t be so special. Have a wonderful day.

      Sent from my iPad

  2. Steve 29/01/2013 at 11:22 am #

    A great day for you, glad you enjoyed it. Got good things done, and good news on the family front.

Leave a Reply

