Cutting it fine

29 Jan

persistanceThere were moments on my drive from work to Stromlo Forest Park this afternoon, the venue for the first of the YCRC Summer Series events, when I thought I wouldn’t get there in time. In fact at one point I was mentally creating an alternative run course. But somehow, despite all the red lights I managed to get on the way, I got there in the nick of time, literally minutes to spare. I had to run down from my parked car to register (and discover that I haven’t renewed my membership…oops) and then get to the start. That was my warm up!

The course is two laps of a grassy course. To be completely honest (and I know I’ll be shot down for even admitting this out loud. Sacrilege some will say, but oh well)…….I don’t like running on grass. There I’ve said it – so shoot me. I don’t mind running on trails, I tolerate running on hard surfaces but running on grass? It leaves me cold. I am not a fan. Its spongy and when I’m tired, running feels a lot harder.

As part of the run I decided to do 2 x 1.6km intervals with an 800m easy run after the first interval and a kilometre easy run after the second interval. Good in theory but hard in practice – with undulations and a head wind for part of it. And my easy recoveries weren’t actually as easy as they should have been. Oh well, it did make the time pass quickly. And the amazing thing was I mentally calculated all of this while running! Normally even adding 2 + 2 can be a challenge when I’m running, especially if it involves efforts.

Went for a kilometre warm down after some standing around and rehydrating. The plan had been to do a warm down of several kms but we decided on quality over quantity today and quit after the first kilometre.

“It is a mistake to think that moving fast is the same as actually going somewhere.” – Steve Goodier

3 Responses to “Cutting it fine”

  1. Ewen 29/01/2013 at 9:44 pm #

    Wish you were closer so I could slap some sense into you. Running on grass is good! Your legs, muscles and joints love it! Running on it may feel harder, but that’s good for you!

    Anway, lovely to see you this arvo 🙂

    • Geoff Moore 30/01/2013 at 12:30 pm #

      Good work CJ running hard at Stromlo. While I prefer grass for racing and training on, I find it harder to race well on grass, doing better on road, and track, relatively speaking. But I get many more injuries on road and track than I do on grass. So grass it is. Anyway, horses for courses,

      • cathyn61 30/01/2013 at 1:48 pm #

        No I understand. I guess for a cruisey run, grass would be nice. It’s just every time I run out there at SFP it’s never cruisey!

        Sent from my iPad

Leave a Reply

