Resistance

3 Feb

could not failToday’s swim very nearly didn’t happen. It was at the end of the day and I still hadn’t gone to the pool and honestly  I didn’t want to go. I was tired and really didn’t feel up to doing any swimming.

I tried reasoning with myself – even swimming once a week must do me some good? Surely I can have one day off where I don’t do anything?

But then I remembered how much better I felt when I swam last Wednesday morning after the Summer Series 5km the night before. How much fresher I felt when I next ran, on Thursday morning.

And I had packed my swimming bag the day before, anticipating this resistance to going to the pool. So really I had no excuse. I went to the pool.

And surprise, surprise – I really enjoyed my swim. 🙂

When will I ever learn?!

“Life begets life. Energy creates energy. It is by spending oneself that one becomes rich.” – Sarah Bernhardt

4 Responses to “Resistance”

  1. Ewen 03/02/2013 at 9:17 pm #

    That’s a good example. You never know how a workout will turn out. JFDI as your mate Michelle would say.

    • cathyn61 03/02/2013 at 9:36 pm #

      The thing is I know how much better I feel after doing a swim session but I still have this internal fight with myself. It’s frustrating.

      Sent from my iPad

  2. keepmoving4wd 04/02/2013 at 12:53 am #

    Oh wow you sound like me, that is exactly how I am with swimming arghhh… I can even relate to the whole packing of bag the night before and almost not going… actually few times not going, such an effort, it’s so easy to simply just run haha… 🙂

    • cathyn61 04/02/2013 at 5:13 am #

      There have been some occasions when I haven’t gone so I’m pretty chuffed that I actually made it to the pool yesterday! You’re right – running is easier.

Leave a Reply

