Full stop

9 Mar

Session: long run inc 5km parkrun (7.04am)

Distance: 26km
Time: 2hr 29.25min (24.03min for 5km)
Pace: 5.44min/km
Cals: 1,508
Weather: 11.5*c, wind – N, 6kph (7.04am)
20.6*c, wind – NW, 6kph (10.30am)

Today’s highlights:
Bumping into Ruth on the way to parkrun
Chatting to Gary, Margaret, Jenni & Roger A at parkrun
Parkrun PB 🙂
Chatting to Roger P on the way home
Chatting with Louy at Kingston & Co post-run

Sleeps to marathon: 36

Another early rising so I could have something to eat well before leaving home for this morning’s long run. I’m feeling a bit like the hamster on the wheel at the moment – always running but going nowhere fast.

20130309-155414.jpg
The first 7km of the run took me down to the lake and to the start of parkrun. Bumped into Ruth, who was doing her long run before leaving for a weekend in Wollongong, so we had a bit of a natter before heading on our respective ways. This part of the run wasn’t particularly great so was glad to stop at the parkrun site for a breather. Caught up with Gary, Margaret and Jenni before the start.

The 5km run went well. The plan was to run it comfortably, remembering that I still had 14km to run home after parkrun. But the best laid plans…..yep, you get the picture! So I ended up doing a 32sec PB on this course, finishing the 5km in 24.03min, not that I knew this at the time. Another pleasant chat after the run then it was time to head home.

The last 14km felt like it was never going to end. I was tired, very tired. Chatted briefly with Roger P who was cycling around the lake. I have to say I was eyeing off his bike and wondering how I could hijack it to get me home. Still I continued on my way, concentrating on putting one foot in front of the other, until finally, at last, 26km ticked over on the Garmin.

That’s it – 26km today; 92km for the week. Full stop. 🙂

20130309-140540.jpg
At this stage I’ve completed 12km of my long run. (Photo credit: Gary Bowen)

One Response to “Full stop”

  1. Ewen 09/03/2013 at 9:48 pm #

    New PB! That’s a big day – I’m tired just reading about it.

Leave a Reply

